My Guitars 3, the Old Hawaiian Acoustic Guitar

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Many years ago I used to be able to walk into a pawn shop and see an array of broken dreams in the form of abandoned guitars that people had left to be sold to someone else after they had been used up and never played again.

WP_20180203_12_13_24_Pro.jpg

I always liked to look at them and wonder what sort of life they had had, why they had been sold on and what they could have been. Probably a lot of them were purchased by parents who were pestered by children wanting to learn to play guitar so they could be like a guitar hero, then after a few months of not being able to get anywhere when the child finds out you need a bit of persistence to actually learn to play, the guitars are given up and something new is found.

WP_20180203_12_13_04_Pro.jpg

A lot of guitars were generic crap and occasionally there would be the odd Fender or Gibson but mostly knock offs, cheap copies. There was sometimes even the old left handed instrument.

If the guitar was a good one it was always out of my price range and all I could do was look.

WP_20180203_12_13_14_Pro.jpg

One day I was walking through cash converters in Newcastle the store has long since gone, but they had this guitar. When I saw it I was instantly intrigued, this was not some 80’s abandoned instrument, this was old really old. I didn’t know how old but it reminded me of something Robert Johnson would play, and at that time I was fully into the blues so I had to get it.

It was $90, I had no money so I had to go and rustle up the cash and come back the next day hoping it would still be there.

The guitar has a bit of a bow on the sound board so I bought it thinking I could repair it. I have backed off the strings to take the pressure away and it has relaxed a bit, but now there’s no way I would think of trying to repair it as it's such an old piece of history, so don't want to mess it up with a bodgy repair.

WP_20180203_12_14_30_Pro.jpg

When I got the guitar home I opened it up and discovered it had spare strings with it they were dated from the 20’s, there was also an old Hawaiian Style Instruction manual in the case. I have no way to tell for sure but this guitar is from the 1920-1930’s. Its not a high quality instrument but its ok for its time and the neck is fantastic.

WP_20180203_12_15_13_Pro.jpg

I don’t play it as I don’t want to stress out the soundboard but its so nice to have a little piece of guitar history and its nice to own something like this, the only bit of history I have.

WP_20180203_12_13_35_Pro.jpg

All these images are taken by me copyright Gyro, you should not see them anywhere else but Steemit, thanks for looking.

Sort:  

Looks like a great instrument would love to play!!

Yes it is very special, I wish you could have a go!

What a great story!

The history in the old instruments is always fascinating - I play violin and have had a few occasions to play some really famous old ones, including a Stradivari once. You get this sudden sense that you are connected to a lot of people in a strangely intimate way because making music is such a part of a person's self - the instrument is just the part that can make the noise, but having the instrument other people used is an oddly special thing.

Thank you so much for reading my story, I was starting to think no one was looking :)

I messed around with a Violin when I was learning guitar they are so hard to play,(I gave up) but yes you get exactly what I was trying to say, it's so great to be holding a piece of history. Thank you for the comment it's one of the best things someone has said to me here on Steemit!

Wow! I'm glad to win that award for the day :-).

Yes, people are reading - and in this case, your Build-A-Whale did it's job because I saw your post when I wouldn't have otherwise. Keep plugging away! You have very good content here and in my view that puts you head and shoulders above the crowd right off the bat.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-02-07-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Thank you for reading and acknowledging my work, and for the encouragement, I have been trying to write and probably can't express myself as good as I would like to, so just these words from you mean more to me than the curation rewards, but thank you for those as well :)

Nice find mate i like your story and having to go rustle up some cash and hoping it would still be there. Bet that was a long night waiting.

Yeah it sure was.

Wow that was a diamond in the rough!

What's it like to play ?

Its actually very nice and has an old tone to it, the neck is very thick.

Nice looking guitar @gyro.

Sounds like you were in the right place at the right time.

nice post with guitar~!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41