WORLD MUSIC FROM A LAND THAT DOESN'T EXIST

in #music7 years ago

I've been away for a few days because I was converting
my living room into a recording studio.
The idea of having a studio in your own living room
might seem far-fetched, but it's actually better than I expected.
My living room is full of stuff - books, massive wooden furniture
and plants so it has this warm sound that makes the recordings
feel like they were recorded on vintage eqipment.
In fact, it turns out all you really need to have is a good microphone.
Anyway, my first ''customer'' was a guy named Mita from Niš
(that's in southern Serbia, deep in the Balkans).
He came in to record a few sketches and we ended up with a 4 track EP.
This guy is really special - the way he plays bass, the way he writes
and most of all the way he SINGS. Everything he does is borderline
bizzare but turns out amazing in the end. After the session was done
we listened to the tracks and agreed that is sounded like ''world
music from a land that doesn't exist''. I really wanted to capture the
originality and the authenticity of what he was doing so we experimented
a lot (mostly with the sound of his bass).

21768236_698297700360924_5910450620475461390_n.jpg
(here's Mita recording vocals in my bathroom)

One of the tracks we ended up with is the track below
and, honestly, I've never heard something like it before!
Please comment, I'm anxious to hear what you all think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94