POP DEPRESSION - creating with my art-collective Moskau

in #music7 years ago

Hey steemit people!
A few days ago I invited a couple of Moskau members for a get together
in my apartment (which I decided to convert into a studio but more
about that later). We recorded our entire meeting with a microphone
so we could review what was happening later and maybe catch a
second or two of material that could be used in or as a future song.
The recording was about an hour and a half long and consisted
mostly of incoherent chatter, opening bottles, eating chips,
laughing and, once in a while, playing some music.

15621739_10212184705312270_2534488605354004815_n.jpg
(this was taken the morning after. Cleaning up was not half as fun.)

Yesterday, I sat down to listen to what was recorded.
There was this brief moment of music, just a simple out of tune
melody played on a melodica and a quiet strumming of an acoustic
guitar from somewhere across the room. It had the most incredible
atmosphere. So I decided to record it again, but this time in a more
controled environment. I tried to keep it as authentic as possible and
to change as little as I could. I added some vocals (I used the lyrics
our 2nd lead singer Django wrote a few months ago), a bit of piano,
a slide guitar and a bass (it is actually a cello). I am incredibly pleased
with the end result, although it's still a work in progress!

So, here's the track,
listen, comment and enjoy!

Sort:  

Nice post

That table tells me it was a good time

Congratulations @grobens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 57.43 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

That is SO cool! I love that you based this on something that happened spontaneously, but then crafted it ❤

The melodica sounds a bit like a harmonica .. kind of a cool, unique sound. Enjoyed the steel guitar.

It seems like you're singing in a bit of a monotone. I guess that's the effect you were going for, eh?

I see Django wrote the lyrics (the one line on crystal meth did not escape my notice); I also like the vibe in Depeche Mode's 'Enjoy the Silence' - 'All I wanted, all I ever needed... is here in my arms'.

I have this shitty melodica so it does sound a bit like a harmonica but since I can't play the harmonica, this was the closest I could get to that sound. I agree on the singing, it is monotone but we were going for a ''storytelling'' effect so the idea was to keep it monotone so the lyrics would catch the listeners attention - of course, it's still a work in progress so we'll see how it ill turn out in the end. I'm glad you mentioned the Depeche Mode vibe because it didn't cross my mind :)

Gracias for your input. Did appreciate it. I can see what you're saying - yea, the monotone could serve that purpose - indeed.

wow, I sincerely love the music, nice!

much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80