MY FIRST MOVIE SCORE / understanding music in movies

in #music6 years ago

A few months ago a friend rang me up and asked me if I would try and make film music. I never tried movie scoring and it seemed very exciting so I said YES and here it is!!

m1.jpg

The film is about a girl who is a bit lost in life, she is trying to be an artist but cannot decide what kind so she writes poetry, paints and makes jewelry but ends up abandoning every project because she feels it's all too amateur and not good enough. Her boyfriend leaves her, she gets fired from her job and ends up alone and with not much to do. After a while she begins to talk to a famous poet Paul Valery, asking him for advice and not realizing he does not exist. In the meantime she picks up anther project - she sculpts the hands of her ex boyfriend and starts wearing them like a suit...

m2.png

I found movie scoring to be a very exciting and new but challenging experience. Usually, we watch movies with music already being in them and our brains don't tend to separate one from the other. We are not aware that the music is there. It's part of what we see, it's part of what we feel, it's a part of the whole experience. We may listen to the soundtrack later but we never see a movie without the sound on. And that's what was interesting for me. When she sent me the movie, there were scenes with absolutely no sound in them. Nothing. Not even ambient noise. Complete silence. I realized then that this time I was the one who is supposed to decide what kind of music fits the scene best. I was the one who had the power to change the atmosphere and the feeling of the scene in whatever way I saw fit. In other words, I was in complete control of what music will do to the scene and to the viewer. And there were other challenges.

26239726_10216004352681067_3674195318400838770_n.jpg

I had to work with multiple monitors. One was for watching the movie back and forth and the other was for monitoring the recording. I had to make sure that the duration of the track fits the duration of the scene perfectly. Otherwise, the music doesn't work and since I was not a part of the post-production or montage, it had to be spot on! The other major thing was to decide on the overall sound of the music in the film. I wanted it to be consistent throughout, to have the same kind of sound from the beginning and to be played on the same few instruments. If you put in an electric guitar and then an acoustic and then somewhere maybe a piano and some vocals and then you use only percussions in one scene etc. you get a weird mix of everything that ends up being nothing. So I opted for my recently re-discovered guitar (https://steemit.com/life/@grobens/my-world-war-ii-guitar-and-how-it-came-to-life-again), an accordion and some hand claps. The other problem I came across was having to play and watch the scene at the same time. That meant I had to practice all my ideas before the actual recording so I didn't have to look at the guitar or the accordion to know what I'm doing. Other than that, I got the hang of it fairly quickly and I was enjoying myself more than ever!

I'm not allwed to show you scenes from the movie because it's not out yet but I can leave a link to what become my first ever MOVIE THEME. I hope you will enjoy this as much as I did!

Sort:  

So that's how the old grandpa guitar sound! Brilliant. As you may know already I am dropping a feature film on Steemit tomorrow! I composed 13 tracks for it and did all the soundscape. I like to do stuff like that a lot. A scene really take life when you add music on it...

Yep, that's the properly recorded sound :) I'm looking forward to checking it out tomorrow! Are you doing stuff like that often? I might ask you for an advice or two in the future...

Yes I do often. My approach is never conventional so I might be the worst person to ask advice from, or the best depending if you choose to become a paria of the audio production society :)

Wearing her exes sculpted arms is disturbing. But great job.

it sounds disturbing but in the movie it's actually kind of... poetic.

Great score! People who have never seen the production side of films usually don't understand how important sound is... the smallest sound in the audio can draw the viewer's eye to a completely different part of the screen, or cast a whole different meaning on an actor's performance... filmmaking is such a synergy of so, so many different factors! Great work!

I'm happy I had this revelation first hand

Coming from a fellow composer, this is amazing. I really like it, has a very 'natural, earthy' tone to it. I hope this leads to more film scoring jobs for you :)

Thank you. I hope so too :)

This is some really good stuff! It sounds super organic. Even I compose music for films and I like the minimalistic approach here.
You should check out Johann Johansson and Olafur Arnalds. You might like them :)

Thank you! I love Johansson but I'm not farmiliar with Arnalds. I'll be sure to check him out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66871.77
ETH 3512.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14