Classical Music Is NOT Scary - The Rhythm Is Your Foundation - Shostakovich - PART TWO

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!
So, in PART ONE of this little series
(https://steemit.com/music/@grobens/classical-music-is-not-scary-combining-classical-and-pop-themes-original-song-included)
I talked about how we tend to percieve classical music,
why it might scare us, how to enjoy it and, most importantly,
how to make it feel more familiar by combining well known classical tunes
with contemporary pop melodies
and simple VERSE/CHORUS song structures.

shos.png

(here's a great DADA-style portrait of our man Shostakovich)

Last time I discussed the importance of the melody, how it can be
varied, transposed to other instrument and how we can use it to
structure other parts around it to get an entirely new result.
The genius of choice was Beethoven and his ''Moonlight Sonata''
and this time the genius is Dmitri Shostakovich and his ''Waltz #2''.

As some of you may know, Shostakovich spent most of his life
working under Soviet regime so he couldn't really do what he liked
and he was basically under constant artistic surveillance.
This sort of schizo-paranoid climate is very well reflected in his
music and that's the sort of vibe I tried to achieve in my rendition
of the famous ''Wlatz #2''

shost2.jpg

(here's Dmitri, feeling a bit low)

Anyway, this time the rhythm was my foundation.
I sampled the beginning bars of the ''Waltz #2'' in order to get a loop and
what I ended up with was this really cool 3/4 rhythm with a snare roll
and the underlying bass track played by the brass part of the orchestra.
As I've said before, I really really really wanted this
kind of a schizo-paranoia vibe so I used some distorted synths
to play my own bass track on top of what was already there.
Then, I did a variation on the existing melody using
a really weird synth sound and added some freaky background noise,
played a couple of guitars and recorded some really
haunting backing vocals.
This time, as you will immediately notice, the rhythm was the foundation
and everything else came on top of it. This is really interesting because
Beethoven's ''Moonlight Sonata'' is also in a 3/4 beat but the beat is less
noticeable and doesn't really require any percussion to back it up.

I always like to take things a step further and explore how far I can go
with experimenting and combining two totally different genres and approaches.
So, this is taking it a bit further.
I ended up with something coming out of one of Rick & Morty multiverses,
which was just the vibe I was looking for!

Here's the result!
Enjoy!

Sort:  

Congratulations @grobens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66