BASS GUITARS ONLY / original music

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey! New stuff is on the horizon! My friend Cmrk and one of the best bass players that I know and I used to have a band back in highschool. The band was called ''Lolita'' and we played our version of what is considered to be ''power pop''. I was very into Dinosaur Jr. fIREHOSE, Mega City Four, R.E.M, Sonic Youth, The Cure and that kind of bands at that time so we wanted to blend all those influences into our own music. We released an LP and a series of EPs which were supposed to end up as a 2nd LP. We never recorded the final EP and we eventually stopped playing but we are still good friends and we hang out all the time.

This was our first single from the LP ''Lipstick Pop''

This is my favorite track from the first of the 3 planned EPs.

And this was our last single from the second of the 3 planned EPs.

Anyway, Cmrk and I got together recently to listen to Lolita after a few years just to remind ourselves on what we used to do when we were in highschool. We got a little drunk (as people tend to when they talk about the old days) and I suggested we do another project together. Cmrk was, of course, up for it so we got a little more drunk and then he went home. He called me the other day to ask me if I remember my ''drunk project idea'' from last night and I did. The idea was to record an EP with 2 bass guitars only since we are both bass players. However, we agreed that we only do it via e-mail (even if we are in the same town). He sends me a track of his bass with the BPM info and I play another bass over it and return it via e-mail. The other thing we agreed upon was that we record the first thing that comes to mind when we hear what one of us sent. No overthinking, no overarranging, just the first thing that pops in your head when you hear the track. We have no plans of playing live (maybe someday we will) and we still need to talk about what instruments to record over the two basses (we talked about our Lolita drummer but it's not definite) but we made 2 songs that are based upon bass guitars and we have two more saved as drafts. I'm really excited about this because the process itself is very interesting and the results we are getting for now are really great! So, here's the second track we did (it's still called simply ''Second'') a few days ago. This is not mixed, it's just put together. Cmrk is playing his Fender Jazzbass and I am playing my 90's Danelectro DC Reissue.

23132040_1508110752618220_4811346690861281443_n.jpg

This is Cmrk with his Jazzbass

26734127_10216132658288627_6355465692273163772_n.jpg

and this is my Danelectro (some of you may have seen this photo in one of the previous posts)

and HERE's THE TRACK:

Sort:  

Great tracks, its not the kind of music i daily listen to, but the two bass guitars in the tracks.. realy great!

Im looking forward to more of your songs

PS: is that a fender mustang? I play one myself, I can only recommend to everyone :)

Tnx :)

No, it's a Jazzbass

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43