'Twilight Garden' - New Original Music/Solo-Piano Songwriting Practice! Electronic/Piano/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-11-10 20.09.16.png

This is another practice session

for me, working with the Grand Piano instrument pack for Ableton. I like the harmonic ideas here, but I think it could use some more polishing in regards to the velocities and making it sound more "human-like". I think this would be a cool one to expand into a full orchestral song, and have this be some small portion, where everything else drops out but the piano. I added some hands drums and shakers here too, which I didn't do on the last 3 songs I shared, but I dunno if those would stay in a more finalized version.

Listen to Twilight Garden here.

Track 1 is our piano part

which consists of 2 sections, the Brown (8 bars, repeated 2x at the beginning), and the Blue (8 bars). The screenshot below shows the full 8 bars of Brown and Blue, in order, without the repeated Brown. We are in F# minor, but I used a lot of F# Phrygian here. The bass notes basically ascend in Phrygian, F#, to G, A and then B. In the Blue parts, we drop the left hand to a D, then an E natural (which sounds awesome here), A, and B, before repeating the Brown.

Screenshot 2018-11-10 20.09.34.pngTrack 1, 8 bars Brown section + 8 bars Blue section.

Track 2 was something I was

trying out, attempting to add pedal sounds to make it more realistic. However, upon realizing how detailed and difficult that would be, I abandoned it, lol. Finally we have Tracks 4 and 5, grouped together. These are the shakers/maracas and bongos. Again, these probably wouldn't make the cut in a more final edit of the song.

Listen to Twilight Garden here.

I hope you enjoy today's song! Thanks for listening, it's greatly appreciated!



Check out my Variashuns E.P. here.


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83