'Tuning Troubles' - New Original Music/Quarter Tone Tuning in Kontakt! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 20190722 20.20.28.png

I just found out yesterday

that Native Instrument's Kontakt player allows you to use alternate tunings, and has five or six presets, along with the ability to use any Scala tuning files. In addition to Just Intonation, they offer Pythagorean, a few obscure tunings, and of course, 1/4 Tone tuning, which is what I used here.

Listen to Tuning Troubles here.

Track 1 is the electric piano,

Track 3 the electric bass, and Track 4 the organ. All of these play the same progression, with the bass just playing the chord tones, and the organ playing two octaves up (technically 4 normal octaves, but with 1/2 tones its 2). I am not particularly skilled at writing with 1/4 tones, but I tried to make this kinda dark and creepy, which I think generally works.

Screenshot 20190722 20.19.28.pngTracks 1 and 4, with 3 using just the lowest notes.

I hope you dig this weird little experiment with 1/4 tones, I'll definitely be trying to use them more, and get a better grasp on how to best incorporate them.


Follow me on Choon!

Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

This is awesome @grapthar. I've never gotten around to studying half/quarter tones but it's definitely interested me too from time to time. My untrained ear (in this sense anyways) has to really reach to make sense of it, but it seems to work well once you get used to it. Nice experiment!

Thanks! Yea I have very little experience with alternate temperaments, so it's hard to judge what intervals sound like, and how to utilize them. I think this generally has a cool vibe, which was definitely by accident, haha. I'm gonna keep experimenting and see if I can get my ear accustomed to using these sounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84