'The USS Matas' - Original Music! More of My Old Songs from High School! Punk/Rock/Instrumental + Walkthrough!!

in #music6 years ago

390731_661347911559_878773129_n.jpg

Another throwback tune

from MANY moons ago! I wrote this in 2004/2005, and recorded it on Garageband, which was the only DAW I had access to at the time. This song is still really cool to me; while I hate the recording quality and the guitar tones, the progression itself is really cool and super dissonant, and the Verse portion has a really interesting rhythm, which was my first attempt at using odd meters.

Listen to The USS Matas here.

The main Chorus progression

comes in after the weird delay filled intro. We begin on a D powerchord (in D minor), then drop to an F/A, then E/G#, which uses the tritone and has a really dark sound. When we get to the Verse, we basically have 5 measures of 4/4, then 1 measure of 2/4, before repeating. Not too complex, but it was my first foray into anything outside of 4 bars of 4/4, haha.

The break changes things up,

resolving to our relative major of F, but using a few chords that previously appeared in the track. I don't know if I love this part as much these days, it doesn't seem to fit as well, but all in all, I still dig the song.

Hope you enjoy our little trip down musical history lane! Thanks for checking out my blog!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I enjoyed this,thanks for sharing your art, it is important that people feel like they should create and let the world see.

Woah throwback. Was this made as part of The Ambiguous Affair?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62