'The Tale of the Dragon Splinter' - New Original Music/More Steem Monsters Inspired Tuneage! Electronic/Retro/Videogame + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-12-12 20.16.44.png

I wanted to write

another videogame/8bit/Gameboy sort of tune, inspired by Steem Monsters like the one I shared yesterday. This is a faster tune, with a more interesting progression in my opinion. The bass line is cool, but the synth sound I used is a bit too "modern", but I dunno, I think it worked well enough. I tried to use something more 8bit/retro, but it didn't cut through very well, so I changed the instrument. Let's go through it!

Listen to The Tale of the Dragon Splinter here.

Tracks 1 and 2 provide

the main harmony portion of the tune. We have 2 sections, Pink (Verse), and Blue (Chorus), which just alternate. The verse's progression is as follows: Cmaj, Fmin, Ebmaj - Dbmaj, Abmaj, Fmaj - Abmaj, Bbmaj, Cmaj - Ab, Bb, and finally Ebmaj. We are in C minor in the song, but as you can see, there is a lot of modal interchange going on, which made the harmony a lot more interesting than something purely functional.

Screenshot 2018-12-12 20.16.56.pngTrack 1, Pink section, described above.
Listen to The Tale of the Dragon Splinter here.
Screenshot 2018-12-12 20.17.10.pngTrack 4, described below.

Track 4 is next

which adds some additional melody lines throughout. I really like the timbre of this synth, it's very retro-gamey. Track 5 comes in only during our "Chorus" parts, adding a beepy little extra synth just to make things different from the Verse. Track 7 is our drums, which are just kicks/snares in the Verse plus a hihat in the Choruses. Last up is our bass track, Track 8, the Verse of which I've attached below. Again, 2 sections, Grey is Verse, Blue is Chorus.

Screenshot 2018-12-12 20.17.20.pngTrack 8, Grey section (Verse), described above.

I hope you dig the tune and have found the walkthrough interesting! Check out @steemmonsters, it's a lot of fun and has inspired 2 songs by me, so it must be doing something right, haha! Thanks for listening!



Check out my Variashuns E.P. here.


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79