'The Naga Fire Temple' - New Original Music (Finalized Version)! Submission for Steem Monsters Music/Story Contest! Orchestral/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 2019-02-23 20.43.49.png

I had shared an earlier

version of this song, so I went back and finally made some little edits to finalize it and voila! This is my submission for this week's Steem Monsters music/story contest. I had a couple of songs I was deciding between, but I think this is the most well rounded and pretty epic at points, plus I am always partial to an odd meter, lol. We are in 7/4 for the whole tune, though in the B section (explained below), it feels a bit less like an actual odd meter.

Listen to The Naga Fire Temple here.

We start the song

with just strings, playing our A section (Olive colored, B section is in Blue). Essentially we are just outlining 4 chords, Amin (our tonic), to Cmin (which sounds super dark and awesome), down to Fmin (minor 6, also dark and awesome), and finally to a Gmin in which the Bb eventually moves up a halfstep to give us a Gmaj, before repeating. However, in the B section, we change keys, moving to F#minor (the relative minor of Amajor, the parallel major of our tonic Aminor). I really like how this section is more driving and constant, it has a very adventure game/epic battle sort of vibe. Since we just have quarter and eighth notes here, it feels a bit like we are in 4/4 but just missing a bit at the end, as opposed to really feeling the odd meter like in the A section.

Screenshot 2019-02-23 20.44.03.pngBrass Ensemble, A section.
Listen to The Naga Fire Temple here.
Screenshot 2019-02-23 20.44.14.pngViolin melody, A section.

I have to say,

the violin melody (pictured above) has really grown on me. The descending little chromatic lines definitely have a sort of snake like feeling to them, which initially was accidental but definitely fit the vibe 100%. I would like to one day have some better orchestral percussion to work with, as the timpanis are fine for what they do, but anything faster than an 1/8th note gets a bit muddied, and it would be nice to accent certain parts with the drums. I also fixed the EQ'ing on the track, I had chopped out a lot of mids accidentally, and things were a little too compressed, so that's been changed.

I hope you've enjoyed today's tune! Definitely check out the other contestants here, and if you haven't played @Steemmonsters, get started, it's loads of fun!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46