'THE ΛZMΛRÉAN DRÅGØNSONG - Final Version' - New Original Music for the Steem Monsters Music/Lore Contest! Orchestral/Theme Song/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-04-25 20.19.16.png

I posted an unfinished

version of this the other day, but in the mean time, I added a new little section to follow each Verse/B Section (except the 1st), which made the whole thing a bit longer, and broke up the repetition just enough for me to be fully satisfied. I still think it could use a melody line from a different instrument, maybe a horn section, but the horns I have don't sound as good as these strings from Spitfire Audio, so I decided to leave it as is, until a future date when I can update all my VSTs. Obviously, this is my submission for this week's Steem Monsters Music/Lore Contest!

Listen to THE ΛZMΛRÉAN DRÅGØNSONG here.

We have 3 main sections

(viewed from Track 1): Light Blue (Chorus, A section), Dark Blue (Verse, B section), Purple (Pre-Chorus, C section). I'll just quickly outline the main chord tones here, just keep in mind that Tracks 1 and 3 add some seriously dissonant notes throughout, which definitely add a lot of tension throughout. The Light Blue section begins on our tonic of C# (major chord the first time, minor the 2nd time around), then to an A, our bVi, 2x. Next we have an Abmin, to Cdim, which is where every A section ends after the first and last time around, where there is an extra 2 measures added on.

Screenshot 2019-04-25 20.19.37.pngTrack 1, A section.
Listen to THE ΛZMΛRÉAN DRÅGØNSONG here.
Screenshot 2019-04-25 20.19.48.pngTrack 3, B and C section.

The B section moves

to our relative major key of E, though we have some modal interchange, beginning on a C(7, theres a Bb in the low range), then up to Dmajor, and to E, then back to down to D. The first time through, this moves us to the A section again, but every subsequent time, we move to the C section, which is a new addition in this version. It feels like things rise up here, moving to an A#, then to D#, then a Cmajor, followed by a G#, giving us a nice bVii in our temporary modulation to A#. The next 4 bars consist of an F#maj, then A# to C#, to a D, and finally a Cdim, resolving back to the A section.

Listen to THE ΛZMΛRÉAN DRÅGØNSONG here.

I turned down the volume

on the cymbal group and the bells (Track 9), and turned it up on the drum kit (Track 8), which I think helped the mix a lot. A new addition here is Track 10, which provides a string melody for the entire ending of the tune, over the final A sections. I had it at the beginning additionally, but I didn't like it there, so I just used it once to swell into our 2nd A section, when the other tracks all come in.

Screenshot 2019-04-25 20.20.03.pngTrack 9, Tubular Bells.

I hope you like the song! Thanks for listening, and definitely check out all the other contestants here!


Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31