'Sparkly' - New Original Music/Song Idea! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-01-16 20.41.28.png

Up until recently

I didn't use many audio samples outside of the Ableton simpler instrument, since most of my posts here were about the music theory/songwriting ideas, however since I got my sample/instrument library moved over to my laptop I've been incorporating them a lot more. This song definitely uses a number of clips that work nicely, but I added a bassline that I played. I had 2 or 3 other instruments that I played too, but I wound up abandoning them as I didn't really think they fit here. Over the next few days I'm gonna see what else I can jam over this, I was thinking some guitar might be really cool, so stay tuned.

Listen to Sparkly here.

Track 1 is our first

of 3 drum tracks, with Track 2 playing the same little progression, but dropped down 3 halfsteps to fit with the rest of the instruments. Track 3 is our kicks and snares, which all come from an instrument pack called "The Forge". I've never actually used these drums before, but I really like them. Track 4 is an audio clip of some heavy drums, which has a kicky-sort of sound in it that works nicely against the kicks in Track 3.

Screenshot 2019-01-16 20.41.42.pngTrack 8, the bassline.

Track 5 is used to transition

between sections with a little clip that I chopped up and tuned a bit, and Tracks 6 and 7 play in the background for most of the track, adding some cool ambient weirdness. Finally we have Track 8, our bass part, which is going to be the basis for a couple more harmony layers I'll be adding. The bass repeats every 16 bars, but Tracks 4 and 6 make it feel like the song is repeating every 12 bars, so we get a cool variation in every section between the bass and whats happening above it.

I hope you enjoy today's song idea, I'll definitely be working on this one throughout the weekend and see what I come up. Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

If you sing/rap/whatever and want to put something on track 2wo, contact me!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Hello @grapthar, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00