'Ride the Darkhorse' - Original Music/An Older Song with Some New Changes! Electronic/Gothpop/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-10-20 22.00.41.png

This tune was originally done

probably like a year ago or so, but I went back through and redid some things, added a new distorted bass guitar to fill things in more, and "mastered" it a bit more, with some tools in Ableton I downloaded after I did the original. I actually have an idea for vocals for this, I was imagining something like the group Prayers, sort of yelling/singing, but gothy. Let's go through it!

Listen to Ride the Darkhorse here.

The major change is in the "basses"

grouping, where originally there was just 2 synth basses. I added a bass guitar (sample) with a heavy overdrive, which made the droning over C a lot heavier and cooler. I have attached a screenshot of the progression during the Chorus below, where we change from the C drone to a different progression.

Screenshot 2018-10-20 22.00.51.pngBass guitar, Chorus riff.
Listen to Ride the Darkhorse here.
Screenshot 2018-10-20 22.01.14.pngTrack 7, Verse progression.

The plucky synth parts

add the melody throughout. During the Verse, while the basses drone on C, this instrument (Track #7) plays the above progression. There's a lot of usage of the tritone in both the Verse and the Chorus, which I liked here. Sometimes it can be a bit too obvious, but I think it adds a cool tension here, with a sort of goth-big-band sort of effect, hehe. The final 3 tracks are all the same as the original, although with the new mastering effects I added, everything sounds a lot clearer and has it's own place in the mix.

I hope you enjoy the song! Thanks for listening, I really appreciate it!



Check out my Variashuns E.P. here.


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81