'Quirkensons' - New Original Music/Song Idea! Electronic/Experimental/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-11-18 19.00.42.png

As promised, I completely

avoided using the solo-piano, and got kinda weird here. This is DEFINITELY not a finished song, but I like it, the weird rhythm + weird harmonies work pretty well. I may try and expand on this some more; the drum beat actually came from a different song, that I scrapped, but I loved the beat when the super sparse hi-hats come in. Let's go through it!

Listen to Quirkensons here.

Track 1 is our beat,

with the Red section using just kicks/snares, and Blue the full beat with the hihats. Tracks 2 and 3 use some super spacey, ultra-effected pianos, which provide the plucky, staccato parts that we begin the song with. Track 4 is our bass, which I've attached in a screenshot below. I like how the wobbles add a second layer of strange rhythms, but because it cuts out, it doesn't cut against the main beat too much.

Screenshot 2018-11-18 19.00.55.pngTrack 4, the bass part.

Track 5 adds a dancey

synth sound that only happens on the 1 of each measure. This instrument only plays a single note, so I had to manually go in and edit the transposition for each hit, haha. Should've just put the sample into Simpler, but I thought of that after the fact, lol. Finally Track 6 adds a second drum part, which only comes in during the break towards the beginning, just to change things up a bit.

I hope you dig this song idea! It's definitely a weird one, but I haven't done anything strange in a while and it felt good to go down that road. Thanks for listening!



Check out my Variashuns E.P. here.


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55