'Prisms of Energy' - New Original Music/Experimenting More with New Instruments! Electronic/Ambient/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2019-03-17 20.10.23.png

Here's another song

using those new VSTs from Spitfire Audio, and a drum kit that I already had. I think the general idea here could be expanded into a full song, but it's a little cluttered mix-wise, so if I were to ever expand this/build a full song around it some things would definitely need some editing. Let's go through it as it currently is!

Listen to Prisms of Energy here.

We are in 7/8 here, and Track 1

provides our root notes for the chords that are built up around it: C(minor), Ab(major), F(major), Bb(major), then Eb(major), Ab(major), up to our Flat II C#(major), and finally a Bb(major), then repeating. Tracks 2 and 4 add the little melody parts, with Track 2 providing the real meat of the melody and Track 4 just adding some extra little sparkly, ambient touches. Track 3 harmonizes with Track 1, adding some low-end notes every other measure.

Screenshot 2019-03-17 20.10.33.pngTrack 1, the full progression.
Listen to Prisms of Energy here.
Screenshot 2019-03-17 20.10.42.pngTrack 2, Melody line.

Track 5 is the cello part

which has some extra effects on it to keep things spacey. Finally, we have Tracks 6 and 7, which add some extra synthy-ambient-floatiness following our main progression. The last instrument is our drums in Track 8. This is a kit that I didn't know I had until last week, so I've been trying to experiment with it, there are something like 40 different sounds in it, so there is a lot to go through. Overall, I don't know how well the beat works, the ambient nature of the rest of the tracks doesn't work as well with a super rigid beat, but I was in experimental mode so I rolled with it, hehe.

I hope you enjoy today's song! Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82