|| GRAPTHAR'S SONG OF THE DAY: TALKING HEADS "A CLEAN BREAK" ||

in #music7 years ago (edited)

talkingheads_001.jpg



I LOVE Talking Heads. They are absolutely, without a doubt, one of the greatest bands of all time. I first got into them my freshman year of high school, when my mom got me the Once In A Lifetime book/box set. I had heard "Psycho Killer" in a music class during a presentation my classmate gave (pretty cool class looking back, we could pick any rock song and write a report on the band, the lyrics, and the music). I had been playing it a lot (from NAPSTER probably haha) so my mom got me that set, and it is still probably one of the most important musical moments in my life.

Talking Heads really opened my eyes to what music could be, and how important originality is in art generally. I had never heard anything like them before (or since really lol). I had listened to a lot of Minor Threat and Bad Religion that year, so these guys really were a major change, although only in tone, the mentality and DIY methodology was very similar.

Every song is unique, although there is clearly a similar intent through all the music. The basslines are unbelievably good, the guitars are sometimes so minimal yet super impactful, and the vocals/lyrics are truly creative. Sometimes funny and ironic, sometimes melancholy, sometimes very strange, they really expanded my mind regarding what you can do with words and melody in music.

This song is probably my favorite of theirs. It doesn't appear on any studio albums. It was the last track on the box set, and what an ender. It was recorded live, but the instruments sound so good; just perfectly played. The vocals are SO killer on this track. Everything about it is just great, I'll shut up now so you can listen and enjoy!



LISTEN TO MY MUSIC HERE!

AND SOME NEWER TRACKS HERE!

Sort:  

I love this song, they need to release some unfinished stuff.

Talking Heads are super!

The best!

Brilliant post @grapthar. Thanks for sharing this post.💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43