|| CHILL PILL || ORIGINAL STEEM MUSIC! || HIPHOP/ELECTRONIC/CHILL ||

in #music7 years ago (edited)

image.jpg



This is a song I wrote last night at my friend's house, it started out as some goofy drum beat with hand drums, and the bell that is still in this version, but I basically abandoned all of it and started from scratch with the bell (it just sounded so cool, I didn't want to just start from scratch).
Pretty simple song, I really like the tone of the drums, they came out sounding really full. I put a lot more time than normal into the mixing of the instrument tracks, sometimes I get so impatient and skip EQing certain tracks, or forget to duplicate and pan other tracks for a more full sound. However, I was just blazed enough to enjoy doing the tedious parts, and I think the general timbre really benefitted from that.

  • Theory wise, the song is in Cmin, pretty basic chord progressions. Starts with a Csus4, Ebmaj, and an Fsus2. Basically that just repeats the whole time, with a little added harmony above those chords (you can hear this in the dissonance at the end of each set of 2 measures that feels like it needs to resolve [it's a B natural, which makes it feels like it needs to pull up to C]).
  • The bell sound is basically just that Csus4 (it's a Sus4, but with the minor 3rd above C, and without the usual 5th on top, so I guess technically it could be an Fmin7 inversion, but the songs in C, so its Csus4 to me, deal with it lol). The bell also hits a tritone in every 7th measure, which really sounds cool bouncing off the keyboard line below it.
  • There's a spacey synth in the background the whole time, it changes direction from R to L and back and forth. This sound is doubled in two tracks, but each one is sidechained to a different part of the drum track (one is the kick, the other the hihats). That seemed to help it blend well into the background without being to obvious.

Hope you enjoy!



LISTEN TO MY MUSIC HERE!

Sort:  

holy shit this is dope.

Yes sir 😊😊

Sweet track! star.gif

Thanks!

Sounds like something Air would've played for the Virgin Suicides soundtrack.

Thanks! I went and listened to Air for the first time, wow that's a super compliment! I appreciate the resteem too, gave you a follow

Beautiful sound ,
I love it , thanks 4 sharing

Wow, that's cool. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68