MY OLD BAND: THE STEAKS "CONTAPTIONS" -- ORIGINAL MUSIC METAL/PUNK/MATH

in #music7 years ago

390731_661347911559_878773129_n.jpg
Mike and Myself

So the genre's listed in the title

are definitely true for my old band "The Steaks", however, this is the single exception. Our bassist Mike originally was playing drums for us, until we found Bill, who was a killer drummer, so Mike moved to bass. Mike hadn’t played in a few years, so the drums are sometimes a bit off, bit y’know, whatever, haha it’s the only recording we’ve got. Keep in mind, this was recorded on some crappy digitech recording device with an insanely drunk guitarist (not me lol), so I had to work really hard to even get anything recorded lol. (Photo of our first and last show below)

385780_661347941499_114040708_n.jpg
I love this shirt, it's called a Shite Shirt.

The band was definitely a metal band,

as the other guitarist, Ben, was super into 80s chuggy hair metal stuff, but I refused to play that, so we sort of made this weird blend of weird time signatures and “epic” kind of Iron Maiden-esque harmoneis, I always described us as like video-game math metal. No synths, but the general harmonic tone reminded me of SNES or something, but with 7’s and 5’s and 9’s haha.

This song was a random creation,

Ben started with the main tapping riff, and I started playing Dm7 and Cmaj7, and we worked from there. That’s essentially the same riff for a lot of the track, me moving between those two chords and Ben jamming above it. Eventually I move to Gm, and then Abmajor to build into the palm-muted break section.

I think the most interesting riff in the song

is the outro, it’s in 5/4, and I wish we would’ve gone back and recorded it better, cause it was such a cool little combo of guitar parts. Unfortunately, we never did, then broke up, and so all that’s left is this haha.

384063_661347462459_2119609733_n.jpg
Our drummer Bill, pictured above, rocking out.

Anyway enjoy the tune, thanks for the support!



The Supple Krew Soundcloud

Grapthar 2017 Soundcloud

Grapthar 2018 Soundcloud

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Looks like the band rocked during their time.
Going back through memory lane

Haha yeah it was our one and only show unfortunately, but it was a lot of fun.

Awesome picture!!
Tremendous post @grapthar.

I really loved your post my dear. 😊💚💙

tenor.gif

Thank you!!

Well, a rock party made me remember when and where it goes and there was always a rock band playing good music. Greetings, thanks.

Thanks! Appreciate the support

Wow! Great and awesome music work.

Thank you so much grapthar for sharing this post.☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65