'Microtonal Experiment #9' - New Original Music! - Electronic/Experimental/Microtonal + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-04-26 20.17.01.png

This is another little experiment

with Microtonal stuff, using a quarter tone tuning like the others... I only shared 1-4, the ones in between 4 and 9 were all just really weak, and never really became full songs, it was just me trying to get the hang of it quarter tones still. This one actually became kind of a real song haha, I'm not sure how harmonically pleasing it is, it's really dissonant and doesn't really feel like it ever resolves, which is cool. Each section is 5 measures of 4/4, which makes it stranger when we resolve on the 6th measure instead of the 5th, adding to the general unresolved feeling. I've attached a little chart below that I made of all the quarter tones and the regular 12 tones. Everything in RED is a regular note, while all the notes in GREEEN are our 1/4 tones. Let's get into the instruments!

keyboard-image-resized-2012.gif

Listen to 'Microtonal Experiment #9' here.

Tracks 1 and 3 are our

quarter tone tracks. They both are playing the same notes, but for some reason, I think because of the timbre and effects on each track, they actually play different notes, and have different overtones that make them sound distinct. Track 1 is sort of a synth string tone, with a heavy tremolo, while Track 3 is a theramin. They were going to just mirror each other, but when played together, the harmonies that happened accidentally sounded great.

Screenshot 2018-04-26 20.17.09.pngTracks 1 and 3, described above.

Tracks 5 and 9 are

our percussion tracks. #5 is the main drum track, using electric drum kit sounds, and Track 9 comes in later, adding some weird digital percussion sounds to the mix. Track 6 is the next instrument, which plays without using quarter tones, so we definitely get some dissonance between this and Tracks 1 and 3. Track 6 plays a little jumping chromatic pattern of D, D#, C#, C and C#.

Listen to 'Microtonal Experiment #9' here.

The last two tracks to discuss

are 7 and 8, which are both the same electric piano sound. I used the same trick here that I did on yesterday's post, doubling the track, and moving the double's notes over by less than a 1/16th of a beat, so you get a strange effect. It makes the piano seem a little warbly and odd, but doesn't sound like 2 different piano tracks. If you check the screenshot below, you can see that Track 8's notes are all slightly to the right of the downbeats, giving us the effect.

Screenshot 2018-04-26 20.25.31.pngTrack 8, described above.

That's all for this one, just another little bit of practice with microtones. This one actually became much more of a cohesive song than the last couple, I think with some better synth tones and some more work, this could actually be a real song. Hope you have found the walkthrough interesting, thanks for checking my blog!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

what a Microtonal Experiment!electronic!great job sir.carry on.you are just outstanding.

Thanks, appreciate it!

plz follow me sir and upvote plz.

Heey there my man!
Which daw are u using??
Is it ableton live 8?? or 10??
I'm using ableton live 9.
I really liked your layering experiment:
https://steemit.com/music/@grapthar/layers-new-original-music-electronic-dance-instrumental-walkthrough

What plugins do you use? was the lead tune coming from NI Massive by any chance? :D

Also I would like to ask you to check out some of my ableton tutorials and tell me if you have found anything useful, or if you have any suggestions.
Cheers,
STEEM ON!

I'm using 9 right now too... I would love to upgrade but it's too much $$ at the mment haha. Thanks, I appreciate you checking out my stuff! Just gave you a follow too, I'll check out your blog!

I don't have NI Massive actually, a lot of the instruments are just random packs I've downloaded or gotten from friends . I usually don't have a lot of my plug ins with me, most of the stuff I do daily is just on my laptop with the stuff I have stored on it, my friend gave me a library full of plug ins on a hard drive I keep at home.

I know some of the stuff in that song is just Operator instruments some guy made.. I think I got them on AfroDJ.

Ahh,
The interface is set to a different look than mine, that's why I tought it's not the 9.
Allright man, thank you for that.

No worries! Looking forward to checking out more of your stuff, I liked the stuff you have shared so far!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68328.66
ETH 2639.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68