'Meats NOT Sweets' - Original Music/Demo Recording from My Old Band, The Steaks! Rock/Metal/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

STEAKSPIC 2 FOR STEEM.jpg

Since I have been working on

my Steem Monsters inspired tune for the next contest, I don't have anything new to share today, so we'll have a throwback day today. In 2011, I formed a band with my friend's Mike and Ben (and my brother originally) called The Steaks. We wrote a series of meat-themed metal songs, with this being one of the first that we did together. Over time, the songs got more proggy, using odd-meters and interesting key changes, but this tune is much more straightforward.

Listen to Meats Not Sweets here.

The main rhythm guitar riff

in the Verse was written by the other guitarist Ben, and was sort of typical for his style: most of the chuggy, straightforward metal influence came from him, then I would warp things with odd-meters and key changes to make it a bit more interesting. I still like the lead riff here, which I wrote. This was something that I was very proud of at the time, using non-diatonic notes like the flat 2 and sharp 6 to give us something pretty cool, despite the relative simplicity of the harmonies around it.

I hope you've enjoyed today's throwback! Thanks for listening, and stay tuned for new songs later this week!


Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I will like to dance to some of your songs :)

hehe i appreciate that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43