'Jokers' - Original Music! - Some of My Old Recordings From High School! Guitar/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

247906_613121248179_1688603_n.jpg

Many moons ago,

when I was in Europe with a friend of mine, I bought a cheap little acoustic guitar from a shop in Amsterdam, and jammed all across the continent with many a drunk tourist, lol. However, I also wrote the basic parts of this song on that trip, and upon returning home, I recorded it, no drums, just double-tracked guitars, using the only DAW I had available to me at the time... Garageband, haha. All things considered, it's not terrible, and theory wise, I still really like what's going on in this song.

Listen to Jokers here.

The main riff begins on A minor

(which is our tonic), and descends by halfsteps in the bass, down to an E, before returning to the A. There is a section after that which I guess could be the Chorus (I never really defined the parts) which essentially just moves Aminor, Gmajor, Aminor, Emajor. It's funny looking back at this, cause this was sort of the extent of my guitar ability at the time, and I was so proud of this song when I wrote it.

During the break,

my friend Julian, who plays violin, double-tracked some violin parts, which seem a bit random now looking back, but all in all, isn't TERRIBLE; I just didn't have any experience recording a violin, and the intonation was a bit off (or my guitar was out of tune, both are likely, lol), but I still dig the concept. I would like to go back one day and re-do the whole song, make things really sound good, focus on tone more, y'know, just clean it up a bit.

Hope you enjoy today's throwback tune! Thanks for checking out my blog!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85