'Infraparabola' - New Original Music/Completely Rewriting Yesterday's Song! Electronic/Synthpop/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 20190814 22.38.27.png

As I listened to

the song I shared yesterday, I realized that I didn't love the outcome. The drums were definitely my favorite part, and I liked the two main synths that do the call and response thing, but I felt like it could be a lot cooler generally, so I essentially scrapped everything except those 4 tracks (2 drums, 2 synths) and started over. This wound up being A LOT more interesting I think, particularly when the bass comes in, things get pretty groovy.

Listen to Infraparabola here.

Tracks 1 and 2

are the synths, though they now just play together providing the root notes and thirds of our chords. The new progression is in Bmin, moving from our i (for 2 bars) down to the Vi (G) for 1 bar, then the iv (Emin) for 1 bar, and up to our Vii (A), also for 1 bar. Then we've got a super dark change, moving to G#major for 2 bars (a minor third below our tonic), then down to Gmin for 1 bar, before we repeat. All in all, I think this is cooler and much more fun than yesterday's version.

Screenshot 20190814 22.38.38.png

Track 1, root notes.
Listen to Infraparabola here.

Screenshot 20190814 22.38.45.png

Track 2, 3rds to define the chords.

Tracks 3 and 4 are

the drums from yesterday's song, with very few changes aside from the Blue section continuing till the end. Track 5 provides another, more ambient synth that accents some chord tones, while Track 6 adds a rhythmic, percussive synth which is not super audible; I dropped the volume until it sorta just accented some 1/16th notes in the drums, so it doesn't overpower anything else.

Listen to Infraparabola here.

Tracks 7 and 8 are the

bass synths, which both play the same progression, pictured below. I wasn't sure how these would sound, as I mixed this on a laptop, but when I listened to it with a subwoofer in a car, I was pleasantly surprised at how intense and groovy it made things, mixed the kick drums. The next 3 tracks are grouped together and provide some swells/crescendos into certain parts, and finally, we have Track 13, which turned out to be my favorite. It uses another rhythmic synth, accenting 1/16th notes, but has such an awesome portamento effect which really made the song in my opinion.

Screenshot 20190815 20.39.51.png

Track 13, bass synth.

I hope you dig this new version of the song, I think it's much cooler. I'll definitely be expanded this, probably adding a B section of some sort so as to break things up harmonically, maybe alter the drums there a bit too so it really stands out. We'll see where inspiration takes it!



Follow me on Choon!

Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81