Grapthar's Song/Video of the Day: Avishai Cohen 'Variations in G Minor (Live)'

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-05-01 21.37.21.png

Avishai Cohen - Variations in G Minor

Avishai Cohen is an amazing

Jazz bassist/composer from Israel that my friend Mike turned me onto probably almost 10 years ago at this point. I honestly haven't really heard anything from him or his trio that I didn't like. They have stuff that's sort of your typical jazz trio, but they also incorporate lots of international musical themes and sounds, from Latin music to Mediterranean, and even Chinese/Japanese scales and ideas have appeared in some songs. I love that he is a bassist who composes for his trio; it allows him write really unique songs that focus on the bass as a lead instrument part of the time. He is also known for using his hands on the body of his bass to create a percussive effect while playing live.

Listen To/Watch the Performance Here.

This is a live performance

of his trio at "Jazz at Marciac", a Jazz festival/show in Marciac, Southern France. This song originally appeared on his 2008 album Gently Disturbed, which is one of my favorites. The live rendition is great, they get into some serious improv and make the song really interesting, especially for someone who has heard the original a lot like me. His band is equally talented, I love how they can back off at times and let the bass really come through, and yet with the snap of a finger, they can crescendo right back into the mix and really nail the songs.

I hope you enjoy the video and the song! Thanks for checking out my blog!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

nice jazz bass. I love the sound of jazz bass, its so jazzy it makes me feel great, what an invention for us.

Great Jobs on this post! My New Bots Just gave you a free upvote! Check the URL on my profile to get more! @zulfajri321

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49