Grapthar's Song/Video of the Day: '13th Century Medieval Music: Ductia' by Ernst Stolz Early Music etc.

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-04-26 20.45.54.png

13th Century Medieval Music: Ductia

Original Video by YouTube User: Ernst Stolz Early Music etc.

I have been listening to

a lot of medieval music/instruments lately, going down some deep YouTube/Internet rabbit holes haha. I have always had an interest in medieval music; My dad is an organist, and used to play professionally in lots of churches and venues around the US, so I have heard medieval organ music a lot throughout my life, and grew to like it very early on. After learning guitar, I discovered all the strange medieval variations of the instrument such as the Citole, along with others like lyres and various harps, and have been fascinated by them ever since.

Watch the video on YouTube here.

Yesterday, I was searching the

Interwebz for various kinds of medieval replica instruments, and discovered a guy on Etsy who makes loads of unique instruments to order. I think I would like to save up for one of these, it would be a lot of fun to pick up a new stringed instrument, particularly something not a lot of people play. This track features such an instrument. It resembles a violin, but has more strings, and is played upright. He also uses a flute of some sort, and shows the sheet music in a medieval style while the song plays which is a really cool addition.

I found this song really cool and hope you guys enjoy it too! Thanks for checking out my blog, I appreciate it!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Medieval is anything BUT Evil, this makes me feel like a knight wandering the countryside searching for adventure.

Great post sir. I am new in steemit please see my post sir

Thanks! Okay I'll check it out.

Thank sir. I am follow of you

i am huge fan also medieval music.great work sir.

Nice, glad you liked it!

Resteem and upvote done.

please see my post.

Ah, so that's your background. Good move to go for a more portable instrument yourself - though they did have a thing called the portative organ back in those days. As a great YouTube explorer and early music lover I've come across the good Herr Stolz's channel many a time, so interesting to see it here, shining out among the dross. This is one of the great medieval hits - known to be an English tune, though anonymous. Play it myself, terribly, on recorder.

Thanks for providing the good content. Need to get the standards raised on here and I'll be making my contribution soon enough - just feeling my way around at the moment. Interesting how this gets less than $5 and your cat pictures x10 that. That's the interwebz for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68328.66
ETH 2639.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68