GRAPTHAR'S SONG OF THE DAY: VELVET UNDERGROUND "PALE BLUE EYES"

in #music6 years ago

velvetunderground_001.jpg

Velvet Underground - Pale Blue Eyes

Velvet Underground is a long time

favorite of mine (I'm sure many other people too haha), and really changed my perspective on rock history. These guys weren't a mainstream success by any stretch, yet they influenced every band from the late '60s on. They were always considered the "musicians' musicians", although I feel like this younger generation has definitely embraced them and their place in the pantheon of rock. Their songs are interestingly poppy, definitely influenced by '50s rock (sort of proto-punk), but super dark; there is a constant thread of angst and misery throughout their stuff, although some of it is hopeful and even happy (though rarely lol).

Listen to Pale Blue Eyes by Velvet Underground here.

This is a (tortured) love song,

written and sung by Lou Reed, and is a really beautiful piece of music. According to the Wikipedia, it was written about a woman Reed loved, although she was married AND didn't have blue eyes haha. The arrangement is awesome, and I love the timbre of the whole piece; the guitar is beautifully simple, and the sadness in the lyrics is palpable.

Hope you enjoy, thanks for checking out my blog!


Check out my new EP here!

I. The Supple Krew Soundcloud

II. Grapthar 2017 Soundcloud

III. Grapthar 2018 Soundcloud


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

@grapthar i like you music "PALE BLUE EYES". i resteem you post . very good original music .

I need download and listen to the music

it's a great song, you definitely should!

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!
Velvet Underground..........!!!!
great one music....i love this

Definitely! They're awesome.

the sound is great
Song of the day!
i love music,it make my mind fresh,thanks for share

glad you enjoyed it!

I'm very agree with you, Velvet underground and later Lou Reed was my fauvorite too! It's excellent election!! Great

definitely, I love his solo stuff!

Classic rock, my all time fave 🤙🏽

The best! glad you dig it!

widely regarded as his greatest-ever ballad -- for a girl he'd been seeing during his time at Syracuse University in the early '60s. Deeply touching, it is almost frighteningly personal; indeed, the first time Reed played it to Sterling Morrison, the guitarist protested, "if I wrote a song like that, I wouldn't make you play it." Hauntingly slow, its stark accompaniment a duet for warm guitar and almost religious tambourine, "Pale Blue Eyes" documents a love that many people have experienced, but few have ever been able to voice so effectively. Even more affecting is what amounts to the punch line, the half-regretful "the fact that you are married only proves you're my best friend." Years later, incidentally, Reed admitted that the song's original inspiration did, in fact, have hazel eyes.

Excellent regards, good friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49