Grapthar's Song of the Day: Polygon Window 'The Dice Man'

in #music6 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg

Polygon Window - The Dice Man

I have shared Aphex Twin

before, but I have never shared any of Richard D. James other projects under different monikers, such as Polygon Window or AFX. Polygon Window was the name James used in the early '90s when he first began releasing music. These songs definitely show their age some of the time, and they were more in line with what other electronic music producers were doing with ambient/acid techno stuff at the time, but they are definitely still really cool. It's hard to compare this to his later stuff, as all of that is just so iconic, but it's fun to go back and listen to where his sound started, and what it has evolved into since.

Listen to Polygon Window - The Dice Man here.

This song is from a 1992

compilation of artists, released by Warp Records, entitled Artificial Intelligence. I think it's a good representation of James' stuff from this time period. You can hear the dissonance and weirdness that has carried through all of his music, but this song is definitely more "straight-forward" than his later stuff, particularly the drums/rhythm. I still like it a lot, it reminds me of high school when I really got into electronic music like this. This song has some cool changes too, where an entirely new theme just seems to emerge from nowhere.

Hope you enjoy the song! Thanks for checking out my blog!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

What would a polygonal window look like though? just a rhombus?

Music is an art

Most definitely.

All guys looks like a vampair.

haha yeah it's a crazy photo. it's all one guys face, richard james.

Not familiar with any of the pre-Aphex Twin stuff myself so thanks for this. In retrospect you can hear him feeling his way and you know he's interested in more than just laying out a beat for x minutes. Just chanced on this and though I'm pretty new here not sure how I managed to miss you until now. Your Blog looks one of the more interesting music ones I've seen, so will be following you. Keep the good stuff coming.

Nice! Yeah when I first discovered aphex, i didn't learn about the early stuff until years later. It's pretty cool to hear the progression for sure. Thanks! I appreciate it, apologies for not replying sooner I didn't see this comment!

Thanks for that. I'll soon be giving it a shot on here for a month or so, see whether it looks promising as an income stream (without getting too involved in the paid voting and all that stuff that goes on). Posting frequently on a wide variety of topics but mainly music of all sorts - that's the plan anyway. In the meantime there's this (in a different vein from Mr James) from my website: https://tinyurl.com/yc4xkdrr

Cool, I have found steemit to be an awesome source of crypto for me, it's actually the reason I was able to divest into other coins. The best advice I can give is just to post everyday, that'll slowly but surely get you followers; and help to support others who do the same, and you'll find success here for sure.

Great @grapthar and thanks for the encouragement. Glad it's working for you and hope it will for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39