Grapthar's Song of the Day: Kate Bush - 'Wuthering Heights'

in #music3 years ago


3874309-kate-bush-xlarge_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BqqVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8.jpg

Kate Bush - Wuthering Heights

I don't think I've ever shared any songs

Kate Bush, live in the '70s sometime (Image Source)
from Kate Bush before, and after hearing some of her music in a YouTube video today, I figured it's better late than never. Catherine Bush (better known as Kate) was born in Kent, England in 1958 into an artistic family, and took up the piano around age 11. Throughout her teenage years, she was writing music and honing her abilities, and her family shopped a demo of hers around, attempting to get her a record deal. Pink Floyd's David Gilmour got a hold of this, and paid for her to record 3 songs, and, after a strange situation where she was put on retainer by the label EMI for two years, she was finally able to release music, and in 1978 released her debut album, The Kick Inside. The album features a number of the members of her previous act, The KT Bush Band, along with studio musicians that the studio tried to get her to utilize. The album is incredible, and experimental, incorporating a wide variety of influences and sounds, and Bush's signature, high vocal timbre. This song became a massive hit single, reaching number 1 on the UK Singles Chart, and giving Bush the honor of being the first #1 female performer who had written her own music.

Listen to Wuthering Heights by Kate Bush here...


KATE_BUSH_THE+KICK+INSIDE-593566.jpg

Kate Bush, The Kick Inside (1978, Parlophone Records)

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I discovered her quite late, though I had heard her name here and there... She is quite unique.

me too, I'd always heard of her, but didn't really discover her music until later in life.

Wuthering Heights is a strange emo book so its only fitting to have a musical version with some of the same qualities. I only found this song 15 years ago when a YouTuber did her version of Kat's dance. Unfortunately her video is private now, but the post I wrote about it lives on at http://youtubestars.blogspot.com/2006/06/cinema-du-jour-part-1.html and anyone can check that if they want to read more about my thoughts on the song. :)

Nice! I'll check out your blog post

Great post! If my memory serves me right, I think I first heard this one back in the 2000s. I had collection of vinyl records; "Wuthering Heights" was a little 45 rpm record among the lot. B-side was "Kite", an unspectacular song.

"Wuthering Heights" from 1978 has a dreamy, romantic melody and is undoubtedly one of Bush's best pieces in an era when disco fever and punk frenzy ruled the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48