'Glick' - New Original Music - Destroying Some Drums w/ Portal - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

in #music3 years ago


Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 9.37.36 PM.png

Spitfire Audio released a new LABS

The only instrument not bounced to audio, Track 9
pack last night, the 'Percussion' set, which is just a bunch of different dry drum hits (an actual kit, shakers, triangle, etc). I was a little disappointed, as I was hoping for something really cool and strange, but the samples they used are great, and I'll definitely find some uses for them in the future. I started here with a little kick and tom pattern, which I thought was sorta boring, but then I added a Portal drum preset to it, and created the really crazy, distorted, glitchy beat that is under the whole idea. I really like the general idea here though, so I'm going to spend some time with it, and try and make it more complete. Tracks 2 and 3 are the main drum pattern, grouped together, and put into two tracks, so there isn't a sharp cutoff between the repeating clips. Track 4 was another pattern with the new drums, using a snare, clap, and rimshot, with a different Portal effect that gave it a weird repeating sound. I then bounced that to audio, and used the Beat preserve setting to chop it into 1/16th note parts, so it would feel more on grid.


Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 9.38.52 PM.png

Various Portal Drum Presets


Listen to Glick here...


Track 5 is a Strobe2 synth, also bounced to audio, which

was distorted and heavy initially, but then got weird and glitchy after I added a bitcrusher and gate. I just played around with the gate settings until it cut out on beat. Track 6 adds another synth, which moves between Bb (basically our tonic, though that isn't exactly obvious aside from the fact that it comes up a lot) and E, and also has a gate on it, so it cuts out and fits with the choppiness of the drums. Track 7 was recorded from a ROLI synth, on which I played with the built-in delay effects to get the weird noisey sounds that accent the beginning of certain parts. I think this will wind up being a one time thing, and I'll try and find other interesting sounds to do the same job at other points. Track 8 is another ROLI synth, which hangs out on Bb, then slides up a half step to B, and back to Bb as it fades out. I automated the built-in effect settings here just to give it some movement. I think this could be useful, in the background, so I'll play around with it some more. Finally, we have Track 9 another ROLI synth, which just hits a single note (either Bb or F) on the 1st beat of some parts. This is definitely just a super rough idea, but there's potential here, so I'll keep playing around with it and see what happens!

Hope you enjoy!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82