'Galactiscope' - New Original Music! - Electronic/80s/Retro Instrumental + Theory Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-04-27 22.20.32.png

This song came together last night

after I downloaded some '80s themed drums and synth samples that I plugged into the Simpler device in Ableton. I think this could definitely be expanded, maybe add a Verse where the harmony changes up or something, but in the meantime I think it came out sounding super retro '80s, but with a crazy rhythm. Because the hihats don't begin on the downbeat (1 of each measure), it's hard to keep track of where a measure begins or ends, which I like a lot, worked out great.

Listen to Galactiscope here.

I began with Track 1

which is our drums. The toms and snares definitely sound super '80s, so I made a basic beat (pictured in purple in the overview), then removed the low tom and made that our "lighter" sections, where it's just the drums and Track 2. Speaking of, Track 2 is our main harmony. I play a C, G and Eb, but because of the effects and chords in the original sample, it actually winds up sounding like we are playing in B or E minor, depending on what notes are played around it, which was an accidental case of awesomeness haha.

Screenshot 2018-04-27 22.21.05.pngTrack 3, described below.

Track 3 was also an audio sample

that I chopped up a bit, and looped in Simpler. You can above that it plays a pedal tone, then some higher notes come in and out above it. I also sidechained this track with a compressor to the drums, so it dosn't overpower Track 2 with it's weird rhythm, but sort of just fills in gaps and floats around the background.

Listen to Galactiscope here.

Track 4 is a synth tone

I love, called "Braid Runner", and is playing some 5ths and 4ths to add some harmony to the track. I have attached the screenshot below so you can follow along. Basically just 2 notes per measure, slowly moving down from G to F# to E.

Screenshot 2018-04-27 22.21.14.pngTrack 4, described above.

Last up is Track 5,

which is a synth string instrument. It too is compressed a bit, so it doesn't overpower anything. Honestly I was surprised at how easily all these instruments blended in this track, nothing was overpowering anything else harmonically. I have just lately really got the hang of using compression effectively, and it definitely makes a huge difference.

Listen to Galactiscope here.
Screenshot 2018-04-27 22.21.21.pngTrack 5, described above.

That's all for this one, hope you enjoy the song and the walkthroughs! I appreciate all the support, thanks for checking my stuff out!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

perfect for travelling the skies of jupiter in a biological space creature that is also a ship.

your album is must be hit dear

music is myvlife.
thank you sir@grapthar for unique valuabele pos

Glad you liked it!

good post about original music post
great job dear @grapthar

Thanks to share this post sir,because i like music

Thank you very much!

Sir I just upvoted your post.will You please upvote mine to help me earn.

https://steemit.com/news/@sareebhaq/life

This is really abracadabra to me but I love what you made. It was nice reading how you "composed" it

Thanks, i appreciate you reading through it! Glad you liked it.

Sir your post is amazing . I follow you and . You are great man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43