'Droan' - New Original Music - Exploring Ableton's Wavetable Synths - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

in #music4 years ago

Screen Shot 20200916 at 9.41.29 PM.png

I realized a few days ago that I've

Track 6, Arp. Synth Chords
sort of avoided using the various Wavetable synths that are included with Ableton, though I really like playing around with them, so I figured I'd try and write something incorporating them. Technically, this is a 20 minute timed challenge, but I was going at a sort of relaxed pace, just having fun exploring the Wavetables. When I first started using Ableton, it was Version 9, and I didn't have access to these synths (not sure if they were actually included in Ver. 9, but my ripped copy didn't have them). When I upgraded to Ableton 10, I suddenly had a whole new category of synths to utilize. Tracks 1 and 2 were where I started, both of which come from these synths. These two tracks both drone along on a low D (we're in Dminor), with Track 1 swelling in and out, and Track 2 providing the heavy, distorted bass part.

Screen Shot 20200916 at 9.41.47 PM.png

Track 4, Wavetable Synth: Amber Low Glow


Listen to Droan here...


Track 3 also just hangs out on D, but this synth adds a fifth on

Track 7, Strobe2 Synth Stabs
top of whatever is played. It comes in halfway through each measure, providing another texture that swells in a bit, adding a little more rhythm despite the lack of drums/percussion. Track 4 (pictured above) is another bass synth, with a buzzy, '80s sort of timbre, which plays more of a progression. The Bb and the G harmonize with the D's below, in the other tracks, to create a Bb major, and G5. Track 5 adds another buzzy '80s bass synth, from Strobe2, which plays the same progression, except for the second bar, which plays an A instead of D. Track 6 is an arpeggiated synth from Strobe2, which plays some 6 note chords at the end of each bar. Finally, we have Track 7, which plays the progression pictured to the left, which initially were synth stabs, but then I added quite a bit of reverb which made them more of a floaty texture.

Hope you like the Wavetable synths! Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55