'Ancient Lessons' - New Original Music - 10 Minute Songwriting Challenge - Electronic/Hip Hop/Instrumental + Walkthrough

in #music4 years ago

Screen Shot 20200217 at 8.43.02 PM.png

I haven't done a timed challenge

in a while, so I decided to give it a go last night and see what happens. I had already selected the thumpy synth bass in Track 1 (from a previous jam I was playing around with), so I guess I cheated a little, but I hadn't written anything with it. Since I had very limited time, I only got 4 tracks, the bass, some drums, a weird synth noise, and a piano, but all in all, I think this turned out pretty cool. It definitely has some sweet ideas, particularly in the piano part, which I may expand on and use for a more complete song.

Listen to Ancient Lessons here.

The bass begins the track,

with the progression taking up 8 bars total, before repeating. Next up is the drums, for which I use the 'Drums' set from Spitfire Audio's LABS. They wound up working pretty well, and the snare ghost notes sound really sweet. Track 3 is a synth noise, which just drones on a C on the 1st and 3rd (and 5th and 7th) bars, which I added last minute, just to try and divide the song up a bit, as it was repetitive. Finally, we have Track 4, the Soft Piano, also from LABS. The progression here turned out pretty cool: (first 4 bars) CminAdd2, Fmin7/11, Fmaj7, to Gmin, (second 4 bars) CminAdd2, Fmin7/11, Bb (second inversion), and lastly, Bb (spread voicing). You could sub in an Add9 for the Add2s, but I don't like using that unless it actually is a 9th above the root, which in these cases, wouldn't be accurate.


Screen Shot 20200217 at 8.43.16 PM.png

Track 1, Thumpy Synth Bass.
Listen to Ancient Lessons here.

Screen Shot 20200217 at 8.43.31 PM.png

Track 4, LABS Soft Piano.

Hope you enjoy today's timed songwriting challenge! Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Hi @grapthar,
Question for you, how do you embed your sound cloud music into your steemit posts? I posted a podcast and just copied the soundcloud URL, but your way is much better.

i think sometimes the actual links will auto-embed it though. but, just in case, these instructions are what i do everytime.

Hey! glad to see you back on Steemit!

on the actual soundcloud page for the song/podcast, you go to 'share' and you can copy the embed link from there. in the image below, just copy everything under the word 'Code' (<iframe width= etc.etc.)

Screen Shot 20200218 at 9.05.35 PM.pngScreen Shot 20200218 at 9.05.48 PM.png

@grapthar, Thank you so much! You're the best

happy to help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51