'Ambionc' - New Original Music - SPEED ROUND: 5 Minute Songwriting Challenge! Electronic/Soundscape + Walkthrough

in #music4 years ago

Screen Shot 20200605 at 9.33.18 PM.png

I rarely do these super short

five minute writing challenges as its very difficult to come up with anything worth sharing, but I figured if I used some of these complex LABS' ambient synth things, plus a really long progresion to base everything around, I might be able to pump out a couple of tracks that last longer than a minute, and voila, this is the result. I got 4 tracks, all of which are from Spitfire Audio's LABS' "Granular Whalesong" set. Each of the instruments in this set have quite a bit going on, so when stacked, you get something that sounds a lot more complex than it is; there are also some built in effects, which worked well since I didn't have time to tweak plug-ins.

Listen to Ambionc here.

I began with Track 1, and just

mapped out the entire thing. The A section, in Blue, takes place over 6 LONG bars and the B section, in White, over 4 bars. All of the other tracks were built on top of these, with Track 2 adding some harmonies using the same instrument, just dropped down in velocity and volume a little bit. Track 3 uses a super muffled, underwater sort of sound, which adds some more chords, outlining a Dmin, A7 (2x) a Cmaj, and Bmaj (odd dissonance, but works with these slow moving synths) for the A section. Finally, we have Track 4, which was a very last minute addition. It plays some arpeggios, which I altered a bit by automating the tuning to swoosh up and down a bit; not a great effect, but I didn't have a lot of time left, so I had to roll with it, haha.

Screen Shot 20200605 at 9.33.39 PM.png

Track 1, A (Blue, 6 bars) and B (White, 4 bars) sections.

Screen Shot 20200605 at 9.33.55 PM.png

Track 3, Additional Harmonies/Chord Tones.

Hope you like the results of this timed challenge! 5 minutes is pretty rough, but I dunno, I think there are some ideas here that I could use for more complete tunes!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53