Grapthar's Song of the Day: Aydin Esen 'Deep'

in #music6 years ago

download.jpg

Aydin Esen - Deep

Aydin Esen is an artist

I discovered through a YouTuber I watch pretty regularly, Rick Beato. Rick has always referred to Aydin as the greatest modern jazz improviser, and I was not disappointed after checking out his tunes. Aydin has been playing music for basically his entire life, and attended Berklee, Julliard AND the New England Conservatory of Music, basically the 3 most prestigious music schools in the country.

Listen to Deep by Aydin Esen here.

This song was released on

his 1990 album Trio, where he worked with Peter Herbert and Selahattin C. Kozlu. I was blown away when I listened to this album, it is clearly jazz, but it definitely stands apart from most other artists. Esen uses some amazingly complicated harmonic ideas, and is able to improvise over polytonal harmonies flawlessly. If you're interested in trying to wrap your ears around some new sounds, definitely check out his releases, you won't be disappointed.

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @grapthar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83