Grapthar's Song of the Day: Mogwai - 'Rano Pano'

in #music4 years ago

mogwai.jpg

Mogwai - Rano Pano

Mogwai are an awesome band that I was

Mogwai performing live in 2014 (in Wikipedia)
introduced to through my friend Mike, who, one day, brought a portable hard drive to my apartment and gave me a ton of new bands and songs to check out (this was long before Spotify). Like Russian Circles (who I shared yesterday), Mogwai were one of the band's that I got hooked on, and have remained a fan ever since. The band was first formed in 1995, and have continued playing ever since, though the line-up has shifted over time, with the current group consisting of Stuart Braithwaite (guitar, vocals), Barry Burns (guitar, piano, synthesizer, vocals), Dominic Aitchison (bass guitar), and Martin Bulloch (drums) (Source - Wikipedia: Mogwai). The band is considered a post-rock band, as they absolutely go into some massive, reverb drenched soundscape jams, but they also have much more solid, straight-forward rock-ish tunes, along with pieces for movie and TV soundtracks.

Listen to Rano Pano by Mogwai here..


Mogwai has released an album every three or four years

Mogwai, Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will (2011, Rock Action Records)
starting in 1997. Their last album was released in 2017, though they do have another coming out this month, actually. I love all of their discography, some parts more than others depending on my mood, but one of their albums that I am always happy to revisit is their 2011 album Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will, which came out just as I was discovering the group so, like the Russian Circles' album from yesterday, I find that whenever I listen to it, I am taken back to that time, and the feelings this album evoked in me. The whole album is great, and I could've used any of them for today's post, and really had the same general description, but I decided to go with 'Rano Pano'. The song is based around a super cool Lydian idea, which sometimes resolve, but always takes us back to that sharp 4, keeping a sort of tension even though it isn't a particularly dark or foreboding tune.

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Hello Grapthar - thanks for reminding us about this EPIC band! Incredible atmosphere, powerful stuff!!

Keep well bro =D

yes! i went on a bit of a Mogwai bender yesterday after writing this post. so awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48