'20x6.//-.//1936' - New Original Music! - Noise/IDM - Exercise/Challenge Using Nothing "Tonal" + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-05-06 20.10.57.png

I gave myself another little challenge

last night, decided to try and write a short song (30 seconds to ~ 1 minute) using no harmonies or melodies essentially, only rhythmic tones or anything noisey and weird that isn't particularly tonal. While this may not be particularly 'pleasing' to your eyes, it's a lot of fun to try and write something this way, purposefully avoiding any chords or tones and just working with noisey stuff. Let's get into how that was done!

Listen to '20x6.//-.//1936' here.

Basically we have 2 drum kits

in Tracks 4 and 5, which I will get into in a bit. Track 1 is some strange synthy noise that really just fades in at the very end of the song when everything builds into a crescendo. Track 2 is our main "noise" that plays for the whole song. I just held a C for the whole thing, but then screwed with some settings, including the "type" of noise built into this instrument, which gives it that glitchy, radio tuning sort of sound. You can see those changes happening below.

Screenshot 2018-05-06 20.11.25.pngTrack 2, described above.

Trak 3 is a heavy, distorted synth

that also fades in at the end of the track then fades off pretty quickly. Track 4 is where we get the strange bleeps and bloops in our percussion. I initially just had this as the beat, 3 hits every 5 beats, which gave the song a cool rhythm, but when I added Track 5, which has some "real" drum tones, it wound up fitting together great so I left it as is. I also tweaked some of sounds in Tracks 4 and 5 to make them weirder, some delay, some phasers here and there, some velocity changes etc.

Listen to '20x6.//-.//1936' here.

This is a short song/walkthrough, since I couldn't imagine 2 minutes of noise like this hah. However, I think it works as a short little filler song, or an intro to something perhaps? While this started off as a random exercise for me personally, it wound up being pretty cool, so I am definitely considering using it somehow. Hope you enjoyed the walkthrough!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Very intense, I like the heavy part of it, it's really a wild ride.

Our use of challenges will be published in our culture today by adversely affecting us

How does one publish in our culture by adversely affecting us?

This sounds like something from a chase scene in a movie. Like someone running away from a giant alien trying to eat them. I dig it lol.

hah! thanks, it's definitely a noisey weird one, but I dunno, I liked it too for that same reason, kind of sci-fi weirdness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64