'11s' - New Original Music - Short Song/Idea, Very Rough Idea to Expand On - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

in #music4 years ago

Screen Shot 20200917 at 9.37.16 PM.png

This a short little idea that came about

Tracks 3 and 4, Chords, A Part
last night, as I was just jamming, trying to write something in 11/16. I didn't really do any mixing or adding more effects/plug-ins to anything, and the sound is sort of odd, I think mostly due to the drum tones, but there are some good ideas here that I want to expand into a complete song. I started with Track 1, which is essentially just the root notes of what would become chord progressions, divided into 2 sections, A and B (in Yellow and Blue, respectively). The A part definitely fits into the 11/16 vibe, with one or two chord changes per bar. We begin on F# (we're in F#minor), to A, E, B, and A again for the first half, then F#, A, E, Bmin, and C#min. I don't dislike this part, I think with some different instruments and drums this could turn out pretty cool. But, the B part turned out a lot cooler, and is something I'd like to take and perhaps build an entirely separate track around.

Screen Shot 20200917 at 9.38.26 PM.png

Track 6, Arpeggios, B Part


Listen to 11s here...


The B part's chord progression happens over the course of 4

Track 5, Bass, B Part
of our 11/16 bars, which winds up giving it the feeling of being in 11/4, which I think works a lot better than the faster, more spastic 11/16. I didn't actually do this on purpose, I just had a 4 chord progression (Vi, Vii, i, i), but each chord came in a beat later per bar, which resulted in each chord being held out for 3 quarter notes (assuming 11/4), except for the last, which only holds for 2, which turned out to be a really cool groove, with the ride cymbal providing the 1/4 note rhythm. Track 2 is the drums, which again, don't sound great, so I'll try and find something that fits much better as I expand on the B part. Tracks 3 and 4 both play our chords; Track 3 is a plucky synth, while Track 4 adds an arpeggiated synth. Track 5 is the bass, which I think works nicely in all the sections, so I'll try and keep that as is. Finally, we have Track 6, which is by far my favorite track. The B part for this track is so cool, playing arpeggios of the chords Tracks 3 and 4 play, and will definitely be the basis for whatever future versions of this song come to fruition.

Hope you like the idea so far! I'll be sure to share what it becomes as I take the B part and try something new with it!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83