Music for Life!Learn Basics and Techniques in Guitar Playing !-Play like a Pro!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Music is a gift!Playing an instrument is a skill.

I was just 12 years old when i learned how to play guitar.I was a second year high school student then.Guitar has been my pleasure.Singing songs of the most popular Filipino Bands like Bamboo,Rivermaya,Eraserheads,Parokya ni Edgar and many more...

I can still remember when i will saved my "baon"just for the sake of buying new Song hits -chords with lyrics.Internet was not so well known before in the year 2001.So every new song i heard in a radio,i listened to it.Music...Music...Music...I keep on listening to Music.

I just read chords with lyrics.Playing guitar was a lot of fun and enjoyment.I gained a lot of friends in school and in the church.It so happened that i met a friend who is serving the church as a guitarist.And so,i joined their group.I learned a lot from this guy who don't have any formal music training but very skilled in playing the instrument.I was so inspired on how he played the guitar.On that day,i was motivated to practice.

I practice everyday,before and after school.I was so addicted in the instrument that even when we have classes nd i don't like the teacher,we'll just play under the Nangka Tree with my classmates who were also music addicts,but not Drug Addict.lol

Nobody taught me music formally.I'm a self-taught musician.When my father taught me 3 chords like Em-C-D,i was abled to mastered it in 2 days.I just explored other chords by myself.Playing guitar notation was not in my vocabulary.Even reading tablature was not in my body system. lol... I just do "Cepthra"it means playing by listening to the music without actual reading of the guitar notes.In Music ,this is what you called,"Playing by Ear".

It took me five years to mastered those skills.I played together with my senior guitarists and play along with them.I learned how to play power chords,chord progression,broken chords and picking techniques.I wondered,how did they play beautifully without reading notes and no nothing about Music theory. lol Music is such a blessing from above.

The reason why i make this blog it's because,for me,Music is a gift and an innate talent just like any work of art .All the lessons you learn about Music cannot be learned all in school.Once you have that innate gift to play,born to become a performer,then,Music Degree doesn't matter.One of my Music Veteran Mentor says,"Music comes from the blood and it runs from the blood.It 's an innate gift."

For those who are still dreaming to become a Musician and wants to play guitar in the future,you still have a chance.And today your life begins!!!lol Just play for fun and play for pleasure.

I'll gonna teach you basic things and the easiest way to learn guitar.

Here are my few tips for you to follow.

gui.jpg

You need to have of course a guitar instrument.Your guitar can either be small,medium or jumbo guitar.You can choose if you like nylon or steel string guitar.Nylon strings have 12 frets while Steel strings have 14-16 frets.

guitar...jpg
SMALL GUITAR -NYLON

12.JPG
MEDIUM GUITAR-STEEL GUITAR

WE.jpg
JUMBO GUITAR


Learn how to read Guitar chord charts.There are six horizontal lines.The first horizonal line on top is the 6th string-E,second horizonal line on top is the 5th string,and so on and so forth...the dot with it's crresponding number means the number of frets to press. X mark means,don't play the string,and 0 means,an open string.

Don't memorize all the chords there!All you have to learn are just the basic chords like G,C,D,Em,Am,A,Dm, and E.

g chord.png

c.png

d.png

em.png

am.png

a.png

e.png

Start with strumming techniques only.Strum downstrokes and upstrokes and then as you progress,play a little plucking.When you have mastery with the chords,you can upgrade from strumming to picking strings.

You can use this site in checking the tuning of your strings.https://truefire.com/guitar-tuner.
You can also experiment tuning the guitar by using the piano,guitar tuner,or another guitar that is in tuned.

Guitar has letter names namely E-6th,A-5th,D-4th,G-3rd,B-2nd,1-st

guitar.jpg


You must have a guitar Mentor or an Experienced Senior Guitarist who will be with you in your Guitar Music Journey.In this way,you will learn more faster and easier.That Guitar mentor doesn't need to be a professional Guitarist,Professor in Music but only those have basic knowledge on how to play the instrument and has enough experienced in learning the instrument.But if you can have a Professional Music Trainer /Musician/performer,much better!


As the old saying"Practice Makes You Perfect."But in Music Playing i shall say,"Constant Correct Practice Makes you Perfect."Keep on practicing the right way and i'm pretty sure,you'll gonna reach what you're aiming for.

Here are the list of Famous songs that I'll be sharing you that have simple chords and very easy to play along with your guitar as a Beginning Guitarists.

Song: Leavin On A Jet Plane
Performed by: John Denver

Intro: G C (2x)

G C
ALL MY BAGS ARE PACKED, I'M READY TO GO.
G C
I'M STANDING HERE OUT-SIDE YOUR DOOR
G Em Am D
I HATE TO WAKE YOU UP TO SAY GOOD-BYE.
G C
BUT THE DAWN IS BREAKING, IT'S EARLY MORN,
G C
THE TAXI'S WAITING, HE'S BLOWING HIS HORN
G Em Am D
AL-READY I'M SO LONESOME I COULD DIE.

G C
SO KISS ME AND SMILE FOR ME
G C
TELL ME THAT YOU'LL WAIT FOR ME
G Em Am D
HOLD ME LIKE YOU'LL NEVER LET ME GO.
G C
I'M LEAVING ON A JET PLANE
G C G
DON'T KNOW WHEN I'LL BE BACK AGAIN
Em Am D
OH BABE I HATE TO GO

G C
THERE'S SO MANY TIMES I'VE LET YOU DOWN
G C
SO MANY TIMES I'VE PLAYED AROUND
G Em Am D
I TELL YOU NOW THEY DON'T MEAN A THING
G C
EVERY PLACE I GO I'LL THINK OF YOU
G C
EVERY SONG I SING I'LL SING FOR YOU
G Em Am D
WHEN I COME BACK I'LL Bring YOUR WEDDING RING.

G C
SO KISS ME AND SMILE FOR ME
G C
TELL ME THAT YOU'LL WAIT FOR ME
G Em Am D
HOLD ME LIKE YOU'LL NEVER LET ME GO.
G C
I'M LEAVING ON A JET PLANE
G C G
DON'T KNOW WHEN I'LL BE BACK AGAIN
Em Am D
OH BABE I HATE TO GO

G C
NOW THE TIME HAS COME TO LEAVE YOU
G C
ONE MORE TIME LET ME KISS YOU
G Em Am D
THEN CLOSE YOUR EYES I'LL BE ON MY WAY
G C
DREAM ABOUT THE DAYS TO COME
G C
WHEN I WON'T HAVE TO LEAVE ALONE
G Em Am D
A-BOUT THE TIMES I WON'T HAVE TO SAY.

G C
SO KISS ME AND SMILE FOR ME
G C
TELL ME THAT YOU'LL WAIT FOR ME
G Em Am D
HOLD ME LIKE YOU'LL NEVER LET ME GO.
G C
I'M LEAVING ON A JET PLANE
G C G
DON'T KNOW WHEN I'LL BE BACK AGAIN
Em Am D
OH BABE I HATE TO GO

G

[VERSE]

      G        Em

I found a love for me
C D
Darling just dive right in, and follow my lead
G Em
Well I found a girl beautiful and sweet
C D
I never knew you were the someone waiting for me

[PRE-CHORUS]

                             G

Cause we were just kids when we fell in love
Em C G D
Not knowing what it was, I will not give you up this ti-ime
G Em
But darling just kiss me slow, your heart is all I own
C D
And in your eyes you're holding mine

[CHORUS]

  Em   C             G          D              Em

Baby, I'm dancing in the dark, with you between my arms
C G D Em
Barefoot on the grass, listening to our favorite song
C G D Em
When you said you looked a mess, I whispered underneath my breath
C G D G
But you heard it, darling you look perfect tonight

| G D/F# Em D | C D |

[VERSE]

           G                    Em

Well I found a woman, stronger than anyone I know
C D
She shares my dreams, I hope that someday I'll share her home
G Em
I found a love, to carry more than just my secrets
C D
To carry love, to carry children of our own

[PRE-CHORUS]

                          G                     Em

We are still kids, but we're so in love, fighting against all odds
C G D
I know that we'll be alright this ti-ime
G Em
Darling just hold my hand, be my girl, I'll be your man
C D
I see my future in your eyes

[CHORUS]

  Em   C              G         D              Em

Baby, I'm dancing in the dark, with you between my arms
C G D Em
Barefoot on the grass, listening to our favorite song
C G D
When I saw you in that dress, looking so beautiful
Em C G D [ G ]
I don't deserve this, darling you look perfect tonight

[INTERLUDE]

| G | % | Em | % |
| C | % | D | % |

[CHORUS]

  Em   C              G         D              Em

Baby, I'm dancing in the dark, with you between my arms
C G D Em
Barefoot on the grass, listening to our favorite song
C G D Em
I have faith in what I see, now I know I have met an angel
C G D
In person, and she looks perfect

[CODA]
G/B C Dadd4 D [ G ]
I don't deserve this, you look perfect tonight

| G D/F# Em D | C D | G

[Intro] Em C G D

      Em         C                       G           D

[Verse] come up to meet you, tell you i'm sorry, you don't know how lovely you are
Em C G D
i had to find you, tell you i ne-ed you, tell you i'll set you apart
Em C G D
tell me your secrets and ask me your questions, oh lets go back to the start
Em C G D
running in circles, coming in tails, heads are a science apart

      C                      G

[Chorus] nobody said it was easy, it's such a shame for us to part
C G D
nobody said it was easy, no-one ever said it would be this hard
C G
oh take me back to the start

[Solo] G C G G Bm Em

      Em         C                       G

[Verse] i was just guessing at numbers and f--igures, pulling the puzzles apart
Em C G
questions of science, science and pr-ogress, do not speak as loud as my heart
Em C G
tell me you love me, come back and ha-unt me, oh and i rush to the start
Em C G
running in circles, chasing t-ails, coming back as we are

      C                      G                 

[Chorus] nobody said it was easy, oh it's such a shame for us to part
C G D
nobody said it was easy, no-one ever said it would be so hard
C G C G
i'm going back to the start

[Outro] Em C G

[Intro]

D-A-C-G

[Verse]

D-A-C-G
Tingnan mo ang iyong palad
Kalyado mong kamay sa hirap ng buhay
Dami mong problema nakuha mo pang ngumiti
Noypi ka nga, astig!

[Pre-Chorus]

Saan ka man naroroon,
Wag kang matatakot
Sa baril o patalim
Sa bakas na madilim..

[Chorus]

D-A-C-G
Hoy, pinoy ako!
Buo aking loob, may agimat ang dugo ko
Hoy, oh pinoy ako!
May agimat ang dugo ko..

[Verse]

D-A-C-G
Sinisid ko ang dagat
Nilibot ko ang mundo
Nasa puso ko pala hinahanap kong pulo
Ilang beses na akong muntikang mamatay
Oh, alam ko ang sikreto kaya't andito pa't buhay.

[Pre-Chorus]

D-A-C-G
Oh sabi nila may anting anting ako pero di nila
Alam na diyos ang dahilan ko..

[Chorus]

D-A-C-G
Hoy, pinoy ako!
Buo aking loob, may agimat ang dugo....
Hoy, oh pinoy ako!
May agimat ang dugo ko..

D-A-C-G
Ohh...ooohh...

[Pre-Chorus]

D-A-C-G
Dinig mo ba ang bulong ng lahi mo?
Isigaw mo kapatid, ang himig natin..

[Chorus]

D-A-C-G
Hoy, pinoy ako!
buo aking Loob, may agimat ang dugo ko!
Hoy, oh pinoy ako!
May agimat ang dugo ko..

D-A-C-G
Ohh...ooohh...

[Intro]

G - A7 - C - G [pause]

[Verse]

            A7

kamuka mo si paraluman
C G
nung tayo ay bata pa
G A7
at ang galing-galing mo sumayaw
C G
mapabugi man o cha cha
G A7
ngunit ang paborito
C G
ay pagsayaw mo ng el bimbo
G A7
nakakaindak, nakakaaliw
C G
nakakatindig balahibo

Em G C D
pagkagaling sa skwela ay didiretso na sa inyo
Em G C D
at buong maghapon ay tinuturuan mo ako

[Chorus]

G A7
magkahawak ang ating kamay
C G
at walang kamalay-malay
G A7
na tinuruan mo ang puso ko
C G [break]
na umibig ng tunay

[Verse]

            A7

nanigas ang aking katawan
C G
pagumikot na ang plaka
G A7
patay sa kembot ng bewang mo
C G
at ang pungay ng iyong mga mata
G A7
lumiliwanag ang buhay
C G
habang tayo'y magkaakbay
G A7
at dahang dahan dumudulas
C G
ang kamay ko sa makinis mong braso

Em G C D
sana noon pa man ay sinabi na sa iyo
Em G C D
kahit hindi na uso ay ito lang ang alam ko

[Chorus]

G A7
magkahawak ang ating kamay
C G
at walang kamalay-malay
G A7
na tinuruan mo ang puso ko
C G [break]
na umibig ng tunay

la la la...la la..la la la la la la...

[Verse]

            A7

lumipas ng maraming taon
C G
di na tayo nagkita
G A7
balita ko'y may anak ka na
C G
ngunit walang asawa
G A7
tagahugas ka raw ng pinggan
C G
sa may ermita
G A7
at 'sang gabi nasagasaan
C G
sa isang madilim na eskinita

Em G C D
lahat ng pangarap ko'y bigla lang natunaw
Em G C D
sa panaginip na lang pala kita maisasayaw

[Chorus]

G A7
magkahawak ang ating kamay
C G
at walang kamalay-malay
G A7
na tinuruan mo ang puso ko
C G [break]
na umibig ng tunay

G A7
magkahawak ang ating kamay
C G
at walang kamalay-malay
G A7
na tinuruan mo ang puso ko
C G [break]
na umibig ng tunay

la la la...la la...la la la la...

I hope you like it!:)

In my next blog,i'll be teaching you how to read Basics in Guitar Notation,Reading Guitar Tablature and How to Play "Cepthra Playing"playing through listening without chords and notes on it.-Play like a Pro!

You can add me at @glenyosores and follow me in my Music Blogs.:)

Have a nice day and more power to us Steemians.

Sort:  

Thanks for the upvote @raphaelle.

Your post is highlighted and given additional feedback in Issue #13 of Music Today here: https://steemit.com/music/@smacommunity/music-today-issue-13-or-a-sma-community-initiative

Thanks for the upvote @arcange.

Thanks for the upvote @baa.steemit.

Thanks for the upvote @steemgigs.

Thanks for the upvote @iwanderela.

Thanks for the upvote @juvyjabian.

Thanks for the upvote @mponajotova.

Thanks for the upvote @cherekrest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41