The Incredible True Story, thoughts.

in #music7 years ago


I want to talk about my current favorite musician, Logic.

This will be my first post other than my introduction. I'll try to talk about some bit of music I love as a way to keep myself occupied over the summer. Who knows, maybe I'll really love blogging, never done it before.

Anyways, I never used to be a rap fan. Back in high school and middle school it was your typical Blink-182, Sum 41, pop punk music because I'm super edgy and emotional. It's not that I don't like it now, but it's on the back burner for sure. When I started my freshman year at Michigan Tech I only knew a few people from high school there. One of my good friends from high school also went there so we were basically best friends freshman year, let's call him Joe. Now I had heard about frats back in high school and from movies and the idea never ever interested me. Basically, you pay for "brothers" and invites to parties every weekend until you graduate. At least that's how I thought of it, Joe on the other hand loved fraternities and was a pledge for a frat that he liked. I did not approve of the idea until I got onto the frat's invite list for being friends with Joe. It was at this moment that I became an alcoholic for a year.

The perks of being invited to parties all year is that the beer was worth the price of a solo cup and I became a fan of rap. Now the rap that frat parties play is normally trash, but fun trash. Songs like "I Love College" and anything by Drake killed at every party I ever went to. But I did happen to start researching better artists, real artists. Among those real artists were Kendrick Lamar, JCole, Kid Cudi, Childish Gambino, Kanye (arrogant but still an artist), Mac Miller, and Logic of course.

This is Logic and he is just as nerdy as he looks. I relate to this nerdy side of him in a million ways which is most likely why I connect so well with his music. My favorite album, pictured at the start, is The Incredible True Story. The whole album has a huge sci-fi theme and the beats match this perfectly throughout the entire album. Now, the way Logic produces his albums is he tells a story and you listen to the album in track order to hear the chronological story. Logic does this better than any other artist I've ever heard before. Some songs just transition into a new song so seamlessly you don't even realize Spotify switched songs. In between songs he even has little skits with two astronauts talking about the music and talking to the spaceship's computer. These two astronauts tell the story of their journey to a new planet called Paradise after millions of humans have been wiped out because the Earth was destroyed by man.

My favorite songs on the album, if I had to pick a few, would probably be Fade Away, Upgrade, Like Woah, and Lord Willin', and the final song named for the album. Logic is well known for great lyrics and quickly rapped verses. It is my personal mission to know these lyrics so well that I can rap them on beat out loud. His nerdy references in some of these songs do a great job of forcing me to like something. The best line in the album comes during a skit however, spoken from one of the astronauts, seen below.

If any humans or bots read this, I highly recommend giving it a listen if you are into rap at all. The songs on this album never fail at getting me into a good mood. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

wow nice choice of music.
hiphop makes the world alive :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43