VST vs Real Tube Amp (Quick Blind Comparison)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Obvious difference? Listen and decide yourself.

Before starting to record an album I needed to choose a heavy metal guitar tone for it. I had a choice - to use VST simulations of famous classic amp models or my tiny 2 Watt real tube amp. I made 4 quick mixes with one guitar riff sounding along with other instruments.

First time I recorded the guitar with a distortion pedal, plugged into an audio interface, connected to my computer. And applied three different VST simulations to it.

Second time I recorded it with my real tube amp+the distortion pedal. The sound was picked up by a condenser microphone, connected to the audio interface.

You can see the result in the video below. Try to tell the real amp from the plugins and decide what sounds better and let me know in the comments what you think.

My album:
https://genesingle.bandcamp.com/album/tornado-dreams

Subscribe:

1) To my Steem
2) You Tube
3) Facebook artist page
4) My blog about darker kind of films and music

Sort:  

Congratulations @genesingle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49