Analysis of "Change in the House of Flies" by the Deftones

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Why did I chose it? While the official video is set in an upscale Hollywood flop-house and does a decent job at hinting at the state of things, some people might interpret the song as a party gone way too long rather than the actual drug narrative in the song--pity the producers thought us too naïve to actually view needles and pipes littering shag carpets, or a few track marks on those lily white heroin chic arms. I'll include the official  link at the bottom for comparison.  I interpret the song as a man who introduces a woman to  hard core drugs and is trying to come to terms with his guilt or lack of it--a conflict that never seems resolved for the narrator. For next level thinkers: it can be interpreted as  Nietzsche's observation that Western culture is riddled with bliss addicts, to which the addict must retort, "But it feels so good--" 

Here's amarante's remake of the Deftone's original to listen to while you read: the female voice adds a character to the lyrics--a sensual Ariel retorting to her capture (I'm waiting for mixologists to blend this version with Josef Salvat's Hustler for a sensual blend any Barry White fan can get with--yeah old man, I got soul too https://soundcloud.com/amarantemusic/change-in-the-house-of-flies  


"I watched you change

 Into a fly

 I looked away

 You're on fire

 I watched a change in you

 It's like you never had wings

 And you feel so alive

 I have watched you change


I took you home

 Set you on the glass

 I pulled off your wings

 Then I laughed

 I watched a change in you

 It's like you never had wings

 Now you feel so alive

 I have watched you change


It's like you never had wings



I look at the cross

 And I look away

 Give you the gun

 Blow me away


I watched a change in you

 It's like you never had wings

 Now you feel so alive

 I have watched you change

 And you feel alive

 You feel alive

 You feel alive

 I have watched you change

 It's like you never had wings"

*chorus redacted as it doesn't pertain to the analysis

*Deftone's official video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPpDyIJdasg

*

collection of lyrics by me: https://wordpress.com/post/generalizethis.wordpress.com/178

If you ever want anything analyzed, ask and ye shall receive--I have limitations, but I'll try.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66