You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I hate this music video with a passion and so do you.

in #music6 years ago

Sorry, I didn't notice. I only paid attention to the girl.

I think they could have put at least a few different songs in for the early period...and a few less at the end. Might I suggest getting rid of Bieber. Preferably from the world. They also were pretty damn white when it came to the early songs, but they did include Cab Calloway's Minnie the Moocher in the 30's. There's a lot of good music from back then, but pretty hard to even listen to it these days, except with reproductions, as it was all on wax cylinders and such. You can get some stuff off Archive.org and such though. They could have chosen a lot better than Danny Boy...

It's just some stupid millennials making a mixup of a ton of songs, which I really hope aren't "some of their favourites" as they claimed...cuz Danny Boy and Bieber? EWW! You shouldn't get too worked up about it. They could have done a lot better job...but they didn't. Not everything is going to be perfect. They did a better job than many random kids with delusions of music would have done. They even got a black friend so they wouldn't seem quite so white.

Sort:  

They even got a black friend so they wouldn't seem quite so white.

I feel that somehow makes them even more white...

Given that it has 123 million views I feel it's practically my duty as a citizen of YouTube to write about it where nobody will ever read it. It deserves my scorn!

but yeah I'd probably have stopped the video entirely at about 2000 - music hasn't evolved since then, at least in mainstream pop. Just...more has been made. The fact that Bieber is put alongside the likes of Beethoven is another point of contention but... yeah, bieber is already pretty much out of the limelight as far as I'm aware. So much for a classic.

As for Danny boy, I actually like one version I stumbled across the other week/month, though I'm biased since I'm a little obsessed with extended harmony, and this cover is more musical posturing than it is actual danny boy.

Most people find the harmonizer technique disconcerting too, so I can totally see why people would hate it:

I think music has changed quite a bit in the last 20 years...but it also hasn't...especially with pop. Pop music has always sucked for the most part. And a lot of what they did was strictly pop music.

That interesting version of that song that you shared was an evolution in music.

But it's not easy to show that kinda stuff when you're doing the type of performance they're doing.

I do think that Lady Gaga has done some interesting changes when it comes to pop music. Sure, there are tons of stuff out there similar, but she brought a lot of that into the mainstream. Even if she did wear a meat dress.

I suppose there are some stylistic flares that we might think are outlandish or unique, but for the most part, I consider evolution as bringing something fundamentally new to the table.

Imagine Jazz in the 1700's, or Heavy Metal in the 1920's.

Nothing we have now, we haven't heard before when considering harmonic arrangement, instrumentation, lyrical content, cultural background and so on. All we can really say is that the mainstream music happens to change over time, so although Lady Gaga is a first in the eyes of the world, I'm pretty sure she didn't create her sound out of thin air. She uses the same remixed stuff everyone else has for decades now.

I suppose if I were a creationist I might argue this is micro-evolution not macro

I imagine certain heavy metal would have been very popular hundreds of years ago. We might think it's heavy, but it's not that far from certain compositions when played by a symphony. In fact, some heavy metal actually sounds it's best that way.

Music is an evolution. Maybe some stuff might not seem revolutionary now, but I think in 100 years from now, we're gonna look back at some of the electronic music created during our generation as revolutionary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64