Garage Rock Classic! The Breakers - Don't Send me no Flowers (I ain't dead yet)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Cool fuzzy song written by Donna Weiss who also wrote the huge Kim Carnes hit, Bette Davis Eyes!

This one is by The Breakers from Memphis Tennessee and came out in 1965! Can you believe the fuzz guitar on a song from summer of 1965!!! We are more used to hearing this in 66 and 67!

Here's my comment from the YouTube video, preserved from this day forward forever on the Steem Blockchain!

I think Donna Terry Weiss wrote this when she was still a teen. Later she wrote Bette Davis Eyes. And she recorded some songs she wrote as Tony & Terry (or Terri) which you can find on YouTube if you wanna hear what she sounded like. I like her song, I Want You.

This mid tempo fuzz guitar song could be in my Halloween Music from the 60s series because it talks about graves and being dead! But that's only incidental to the main point - Don't try to take my girl, I'm alive and well and so is our romance!

It's a short song of just over 2 minutes and there is no guitar break in the middle. It does start off with the guitar playing chords before the fuzz lead and vocals start. The singer is sad but insistent and confident at the same time!

Let's see the lyrics:

Don't Send me no Flowers; I ain't dead yet! Don't put no headstone on my grave. She belongs to me and I intend to keep her. I'm used to getting everything I crave!

I ain't run across yet, a girl I couldn't get, when I wanted her!

Don't count your chicks before you can hatch them. Can't crack her shell with your bogus lies. She ain't about to leave me for you. She wants me now, take a look at her eyes!

I ain't run across yet, a girl I couldn't get, when I wanted her!

Don't Send me no Flowers; I ain't dead yet! Don't put no headstone on my grave. I ain't dead yet! I ain't dead yet! I ain't dead yet! I ain't dead yet! I ain't dead yet! I ain't dead yet! I ain't dead yet!

At the very end of the fade out, we hear 2 notes from a harmonica! Why even bother. :) I wonder if there is an original tape of this song somewhere and I wonder how much longer it went on. Seems like the harmonica jam was just starting as the song was ending!

Get ready to Rock with this fuzzy proto punk song from 1965! Dance with @actifit if you want!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72