You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Gambia,” Sona Jobarteh … (West African Acoustic – Music to Your Ears–6)

in #music5 years ago

Thanks for exploring the African culture this time around. Thanks for taking me back to my root. I feel like I am one of the characters in the video. Thanks for keeping your promises, that is, showcasing less know genres and good music. Wow! While I do not understand the original lyrics, your translation was great.

Sort:  

No, that was not MY translation. I found it somewhere, and it did not specify the translator.

Glad you liked it. For years, I've listened to what they call "World Music," which is a strange name. I tend to call it "Local Music," since it comes from and reflects local communities.

I don't even know how I found out about Sona, but maybe it just came up on my YouTube feed.

In fact, since I started this Music ... Ears series, I've been finding all sorts of obscure music coming up on my YouTube feed, Much of it is great stuff which I will make posts of. And that means that I can continue the series for years, or forever!!

Keep listening, keep dancing, keep rocking and bopping!

Thanks for the clarifications. At any rate, Youtube has proven superb in its leading. Let's hope it leads you into greater songs, for our pleasure and refreshment. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44