Inject Me With Love. R.I.P. Roni. A Story Of An Artist

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Today a great Bulgarian artist passed away.

Andronia_2.jpg

Her name was Andronia Popova (Roni). She was a singer in two groups - Sentimental Swingers and Nasekomix.

When a musician dies I immediately want to listen to his music, to honor his soul and art. I knew her only from Nasekomix. To my surprise, her other group "Sentimental Swingers" is totally awesome! Here is a cover of my personal favorite "Andrew Sisters - Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy", performed by them.

She was best known with the song "Inject Me With Love" from the movie "Eastern Plays". The movie was nominated for Oscar; Foreign Language Film category. Here is the song, performed by Nasekomix, along the translation I did.

Translation:

On a bed did I lay ill?
A white room without stars

On the floor oranges
I have no brothers nor sisters

I pin needles to my fears
and the slat I eat with a spoon

My body is skinless
you are gone and I am numb

Inject, inject
inject inject me with love
inject me love

I wrap thin snakes on my finger
and I drown in wells

the devils are pious
and spin souls on their nails

I am blinded by the many words
I got deaf from darkenssо

my body is narrow to me
I will fold into a tittle.

Inject, inject,
Inject me me with love
Inject me love.

The movie "Eastern Plays" is deeply connected with the lyrics, as the story is about Hristo Hristov, who tries to recover from heroin addiction. It is based on a true story and the main character plays himself. Days after the end of the movie's shooting, he passed away.

It is sad how an artist must die to be even more appreciated. The music of Nasekomix is quite dark, but has some romanticism in it. I avoided them for a while because of that, but today I am exploring their music again . They have some enrgetic and crazy songs. One of them is "Amore Mio".

To be honest, Sentimental Swingers impressed me so much, that it is even better to explore their music, as it seems that she enjoyed performing with them so much. It just leaves a happier mark of a well-lived life.


1.jpg
Rest in peace, Rumi. Thank you for the music.
2.jpg
image source


I decline payment for this post, as the true motivation for it was to honor this amazing person. I do not feel like making steem out of it.
Sort:  

beautiful tribute!

Thanks :) at last someone read it ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74