Funkitecht - 80s (FREE 2 USE)

in #music7 years ago

Funkitechture Sessions.jpg

There is nothing I have enjoyed writing more on this project than the track 80's. Funk is something I have always gravitated towards and for me there is nothing inherently funkier than the Dorian Mode.

The Dorian mode is unique in that it has mostly all minor attributes characteristic to minor scales such as the melodic minor and pentatonic but retains a major 6th giving a very bombastic rise in the modes sound as you climb.

This has always (for me at least) given a very "funky" and energizing push to the track and it can be heard immediately on the track 80s. The song is long because I had imagined it being used for a montage of some form, but I always felt that the length was its most charming aspect.

80.png
art by Yoko-Honda
https://www.format.com/magazine/galleries/illustration/yoko-honda-illustration-portfolio

The image above is by a Japanese artist who has been recognized as part of an "old-but-new" style of music genre known as vaporwave. I have been very fond of this style as it (mostly in jest) harks back to a time where capitalist ideologies were in full swing. I tried to incorporate such a feeling of nostalgia into the track but rather than employing a "sadder" tone I wanted to add a more upbeat vibe to help vitalize those who listened to it.

As with the other tracks I have posted, this song is completely free to use for any projects you may have going and I hope that it is helpful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58