Track of the day. Trelldom - Slave til den kommende

in #music6 years ago

It's been a while since I touched the subject black metal. And why not dig deep? This recording is 20 years old. Since then the vocalist has been convicted for torture(!), exhibited his art, acted at a theatre, designed his own clothing line, got famous for saying "Satan" and a host of other things. Among them homosexuality.

I have a mutual friend with Gaahl. Well known for vocal duties in Gorgoroth. I have met him at several occasions and to be honest: he isn't that bad. For the most part sober and sipping coffee is probably not what sensationalists want to hear. But that's how I know him, not as the blood dripping horror story portrayed in the media. That said, he is a unpredictable man full of surprises.

Trelldom was one of the projects he spearheaded before joining Gorgoroth. In my opinion much more original, even catchy sometimes. Typical for the "Bergen vein" of black metal. I don't expect anyone to like it, I just find it amusing to flip through old albums.

Sort:  

That is new to me. Just came across your account and hmm i didnt knew what to think. I'm not at all into metal, but i took the time to read your post and listen to the video. Also i took the time to look for similar videos on youtube so that i understand more of the way this trend is. And although i find it rough to listen because of the very low tones, i do find a certain energy in it, and the way the message or the words are composed into lyrics. Especially i enjoyed the most the lyrics of this song: Behemoth - O Father O Satan O Sun . I am curious, and i can say you have now a new follower.

edit sorry i can not upvote your post, an error is showing i cannot upvote, due to low wight or smth like that. cheers.

Best comment I got in a while. If you are new to black metal and find it intriguing, there are easier entries. I would suggest Satyricons "Now Diabolical" or Gehennas "First Spell". Two of the records I always return to.

The most honest appreciation i ever had on steemit hehe; thank you @funkit. And thanks as well for the record suggestions; i'm usually interested in the power of the words, the lyrics in music. Unfortunately i haven't found such for a while, all or the big majority is made for the masses, for consumers. But yesterday when i played that on, and saw the lyrics, i don't know, i just felt that words have power again, you know what i mean? Cheers.

Kind of, yes. It used to be more important to me too. Today I listen to vocals as another instrument. So it does not matter if it is Greek, English or Norwegian for that matter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86