You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Searching For Operatic Transcendence In Heavy Metal Music

in #music7 years ago

It's strange. I have gone the other way. From metal to classical, chamber and opera. And it's not strange at all.

I just came across a video the other day that mixes classical and black metal perfectly:

It might be exactly what you look for. Wagneresque.

I'd Also Like to mention Apocalyptica

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to share - I've got so much great stuff to listen to tomorrow.

I bet that's the most excitement that orchestra has had in a long time. And you know, the throat singing in that piece isn't too bad, since it's not at the core of the whole experience. The guy seems to have more control over it than we usually see.

Apocalyptica reminds me of an album I used to have of a chamber group performing Tool. Maybe it's the same guys?

What got you interested in classical after listening to metal?

You have to start listening to vocals as an instrument, not as vocals. I had problems with it too at first, then I just think of it as just another instrument.

It's kind of strange how I got involved with it, but it started with me quiting my job and the start of my freelancing. Always hunting for new income, I started to work as stagehands. I did everything. Rock, jazz, events. And then symphony orchestra. At first just to help them with the timpanis and heavier stuff. Then I learned how to set everything up. And acting as stage manager. I even help out with the sheet music.

That sounds like an interesting job. It definitely gives you a perspective on the musical experience that most people will never have.

The unsung hero of the orchestra!

The first to show up and the last to leave. That's me. And I never thought it would be so interesting. I even like opera! Who would think that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55