One of These Days (Original Song) by Tim WakefieldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

I wrote this song around twelve years ago having just started learning Piedmont style fingerpicking. I have since re-arranged it for slide. The lyrics are typical for a young man of the age I was, although I think I was just starting to shed that absurd melancholia that seems to afflict so many young songwriters/people. It's clearly still in evidence though, even if the sun is starting to come out.

I didn't get the lyrics quite right in this take, but I'm going to leave it since I am quite pleased with the performance and don't want to over-think it.

One of These Days

by Tim Wakefield

Sometimes I get this feeling right down in my toes,
Sometimes I get this feeling.. running right through my bones.
It says it's not right and it's not good enough, you've done it all wrong.
I said it's not right and it's not good enough, I thought I'd put that in a song.

Maybe that way.... I can get it out of my system,
Maybe that way.... it'll leave me alone,
Maybe that way.... I can get some peace and quiet,
Maybe that way.... mmmmmh.

Sometimes I feel so afraid, so full of fear,
Don't know how to behave and death seems near.
That's when I need to see her and hold her hand.
It's alright if she's near, 'cos I know she understands.

Maybe one day.... I will get her out of my system.
Maybe one day.... she will leave me alone.
Maybe one day.... will be happy ever after.
Maybe one day..... mmmmmh.

I know I'm not always the best that I can be.
I know I'm not always really sure what it's like to be me.
What do I think? What do I do?
Where do I go now....? And who are you?

One of these days.... I will answer some of these questions.
One of these days.... it'll all become clear.
One of these days.... it'll be alright tomorrow.
One of these days.... mmmmmh.

Sort:  

Nice man, thinking about making a weekly blog for jamming and esteeming others jams, what you think?

That sounds like a fabulous idea! Count me in. :-)

did you play baseball for the red sox?

Ha ha! No I didn't. :-) I like to think I'm The Tim Wakefield, not plain old knuckleballer Tim Wakefield. I have been known to wear red socks though, does that help?

I like your voice, it gets to the very heart. thank you!

Thank you for listening! :-)

i really like these lyrics thanks for sharing

Thank you! My pleasure. :-)

dude...we have real talents here in steemit making us proud and you are one of them.. @fulcanelli you just made my day...thanks for sharing this original song...

Why thank you! I really love being a part of this community and thank you for making me feel more a part of it - it's inspirational to say the least! :-)

you worthy of my commendation... you keep keeping us entertained...thanks and find time to check my blog posts
regards

Beautiful and emotional song) I really like it! Thank you for it :)

Glad you enjoyed it. :-)

what a great music composition...i really like it......keep it up!

Thanks very much! :-)

Totally loved the song @fulcanelli , tomorrow I will go to your profile and listen to any other songs you've written. Keep on jammin ;)

Awesome song, i love song and i like to sing songs

Thanks! So do I! :-)

thanks, i flow you...

You try to upload video maker Dtube.vidoe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42