Mississippi Fred McDowell and Self-ActualisationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

About eighteen months ago I was walking down the road pondering the ideas of Wallace D. Wattles. In case you didn't know, he is a New Thought author who wrote a series of books, the most famous of which is The Science of Getting Rich. Surprisingly, this is not a shallow book as some might think, but instead embraces the idea of being wealthy as the highest spiritual good, since it allows us to self-actualise in a way that poverty simply does not.

I was pondering the idea of what I really wanted to be and do, and I was listening to a great bit of guitar playing by Delaney Bramlett. "I want to play slide guitar", I thought to myself.

That very moment, I looked across the street and there was the best slide guitar player I know in Sheffield. I quickly crossed over and there and then booked a lesson with him.

He put me on to the man he considered to be the 'missing link' in the blueschain - the man who had really opened up the world of slide for him - Mississippi Fred McDowell. There is much I could write about this man and the way he plays, but I will content myself with just sharing a video of him playing. It's really best listened to loud - perhaps with headphones, and with your eyes shut. Lying down ideally. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59